Few rules Q's (some enhanced rules)



  • Evening Pro’s

    A few more rules clarifications in preparation for an upcoming game

    1. Will an AA gun fire twice on one turn if an air unit passes over it to battle and retreats over it?

    2. The rules say that after combat fighters can move to a friendly sea zone provided a friendly carrier will move there in the non combat phase. Doesn’t friendly include ally? That would suggest that Russia can retreat a plane to a SZ and have a US carrier pick it up on its go- but a lot can happen in between while the plane hovers there. Surely the US plane doesnt move on Russia’s turn?

    3. (Enhanced) Subs that are detected by a defending multinational force are available for attack by all nations right?

    4. (enhanced) If the sub contingent goes undetected in a force made of various units is its player then not allowed to take a hit on a sub? That would seem sensible

    Trusty



  • @Trusty:

    Evening Pro’s

    A few more rules clarifications in preparation for an upcoming game

    1. Will an AA gun fire twice on one turn if an air unit passes over it to battle and retreats over it?

    AAA guns do not fire during non-combat movement

    2. The rules say that after combat fighters can move to a friendly sea zone provided a friendly carrier will move there in the non combat phase. Doesn’t friendly include ally? That would suggest that Russia can retreat a plane to a SZ and have a US carrier pick it up on its go- but a lot can happen in between while the plane hovers there. Surely the US plane doesnt move on Russia’s turn?
    The non-combat move must occur on the same player turn (not round of play)  so there is no way for a plane to hover and await an allied carrier to move to receive them on a later players turn

    3. (Enhanced) Subs that are detected by a defending multinational force are available for attack by all nations right?
    Can you use an example?  I am not following the question correctly.  It sounds like you are speaking of an attacking sub (detected by a multinatinal force) but then speak to ‘all nations’ attacking?  Only ONE country can attack with its units in a battle, and only on their turn.  The only MULTI-NATIONAL capability in A&A is on the defense.

    4. (enhanced) If the sub contingent goes undetected in a force made of various units is its player then not allowed to take a hit on a sub? That would seem sensible
    In Enhanced rules, detection ONLY affectes the ability to dive after the first round of opening fire has completed in the first round of a naval battle.  Detection does not affect the ability to take a hit unless you choose to dive your sub…(if they dive, they can not be taken as a hit)



  • Just to clarify re: #2.  If you have enough movement to get to where an allied carrier already is (and it has room) you can land there, but the other person’s carrier can not move during your turn and you can’t hover until the other person’s turn.  You have to land during your turn, moving only your own units.



  • Agreeing with Tim and AR



  • Evening Pro’s,

    Thanks for your replies

    Q2, Q3 and Q4 resolved thankyou.

    My Q1- what I mean is if UK BMR passes over AA gun in Paris on the way to bombing Rome and then passes back over Paris to get home does it take flak twice from Paris?

    Now for Q5 which applies both to enhanced and starightforward revised

    Q5. Three subs attacks Carrier+ 2 FTR. Since “submarines can only fire on sea units” doesn’t  that mean defender can only take the hits on the carrier? And if so, any subs surviving that round of combat can retreat leaving the FTRs to sink?

    Ta

    Trusty



  • @Trusty:

    Evening Pro’s,

    Thanks for your replies

    Q2, Q3 and Q4 resolved thankyou.

    My Q1- what I mean is if UK BMR passes over AA gun in Paris on the way to bombing Rome and then passes back over Paris to get home does it take flak twice from Paris?

    No, the Paris aaa gun does not get to shoot twice.  There are no flak shots during non-combat

    Now for Q5 which applies both to enhanced and starightforward revised

    Q5. Three subs attacks Carrier+ 2 FTR. Since “submarines can only fire on sea units” doesn’t  that mean defender can only take the hits on the carrier? And if so, any subs surviving that round of combat can retreat leaving the FTRs to sink?

    Ta

    Trusty

    correct.  Subs hits have to be taken by the a/c.  Any subs that survive the ftrs defensive roll could withdraw



  • Aircraft “retreat” occurs in Non-Combat Movement.

    When an aircraft retreats it is removed from the battle board and placed in the territory where the battle occurred.  During non-combat movement the aircraft can use its remaining movement points to reach a safe landing spot.

    And since AA do not fire in non-combat movement, there would be no AA fire for the second pass over Western.



  • Thankyou. That is most helpful all.

    Trusty



  • Actually Cragi, he stated that they flew over Western to attack, and back over Western to retreat.  For that to be the case (in the #1 example at the start of the thread) the FIGs would HAVE to be attacking, not defending.

    And under LHTR, Attacking aircraft retreat as I specified.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

79
Online

14.6k
Users

35.1k
Topics

1.4m
Posts