• Can fighters land on a newly built carrier in a contested sea zone?

  • Official Q&A

    It depends.

    In the box rules, both new fighters and existing fighters in the territory containing the industrial complex may be placed on a new carrier.  This may be done whether or not the sea zone is hostile.

    In LHTR, only new fighters may be placed on a new carrier from the territory containing the industrial complex, but fighters that ended their noncombat movement in the sea zone in which the carrier is being placed may land on it when it is placed.  As to whether or not an existing fighter may end its noncombat movement in that sea zone, the normal rules for noncombat movement apply.  If the enemy fleet consists only of submerged subs, the fighter may move there; otherwise it may not, since the movement would result in a combat situation.


  • Correct.

    Under LHTR, of there are enemy surface (or surfaced) ships present at the time of NCM, then existing FIGs cannot stop in the contested sea zone because it would be a Combat Movement to enter and remain in that sea zone, and that is not permitted in NCM movement.


  • Yeah but what if they attacked? What if there were subs present and they submerged.
    And the other possibility I was thinking of, let say that Ger has a fleet next to Uk in SZ7. Uk has two fighters four spaces away from SZ7. Can those fighters attack when a CV has been purchased knowing they’d land there if they survived?


  • I believe so, but im not big on rules.  As long as they have a definite place to land at the end of a turn, they are allowed into combat.  So I see a built carrier as a place to land, so Ill go with yes, they could land there.


  • There could not be SURFACE SHIPS (or surfaced SUBs) in the contested sea zone at the time that the FIGs did their non-combat movement into the sea zone (again, referring to LHTR here).  The FIGs cannot END their NCM in a contested SZ, it is explicitly against the rules.  And the new AC is not placed until after the completion of NCM.

    Many of these “odd” questions can be worked out by following the actual game mechanics if you are unsure of an answer.

  • Official Q&A

    @TATCCITW:

    Yeah but what if they attacked? What if there were subs present and they submerged.
    And the other possibility I was thinking of, let say that Ger has a fleet next to Uk in SZ7. Uk has two fighters four spaces away from SZ7. Can those fighters attack when a CV has been purchased knowing they’d land there if they survived?

    The fighters could legally attack, since the placement of the carrier would allow them a landing spot.  However, since they used all of their movement to get to the battle, they would have none left to retreat, so it would be a fight to the death.  The fighters would either clear the sea zone (including possible submerging by subs) or be destroyed.  If the fighters survive, the carrier must be placed in the sea zone.  If they don’t the carrier could still be placed in the sea zone, or it could be placed in another sea zone if there is another one available.

    Edit:  Just to be clear, this answer applies only to LHTR, as using all of a fighter’s movement for combat movement would be legal under the box rules only if an existing carrier moved into the sea zone during either Combat or Noncombat Movement.

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 5
  • 10
  • 114
  • 2
  • 55
  • 28
  • 2
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

50

Online

17.0k

Users

39.2k

Topics

1.7m

Posts