Hello to everyone,
I and my friends just played Axis&Allies-Revides for the 4th time, and the game ist still rocking :evil:! We are alle convinced to keep WW2 going for many more evenings, the game really kicks a** :roll:!
But nethertheless, we had a few arguments about gaps in the rule book, or just rules that may be understood in different ways. It’s also possible, that we misunderstood or didn’t even recognize some sentences that could have answered one or two questions. To our defense: English is not our mother tongue over here in Germany, and all of us were burning to start playing while we quick-read the rule book.
Have you tried looking for DAAK? They’re a German site for Axis and Allies.
Okay, here we go:
1. If the Soviet Union got “Mobile Industry” as their national ability, can the SU-Player move his industry-complexes even out of the red territory? For instance into conquered ex-German territory or maybe also into Sinkiang? In case he is allowed to, what happens if the SU-Player moves a complex into allied territory (for example Sinkiang)? Is it him or the allied nation who is able to use this complex for production? (ehm, yes, I know the history background to this NA, but the rule book is not saying that industrial complexes may only be moved into the eastern soviet territories :roll:)
Yes, you can move industrial complexes out of red territories However, you cannot move an industrial complex into enemy territory (the move is during the noncombat phase). The FAQ (on the Avalon Hill/Wizards website) states that you can only USE the Russian industrial complex if you owned both the industrial complex AND the territory into which you moved the industrial complex at the start of the turn.
Example: Let us say that your Russian industrial complex is at Novosibirsk and Sinkiang is controlled by the Americans. You move your Russian industrial complex into Sinkiang. You did not own Sinkiang since the beginning of the turn, so you cannot place any Russian units there.
If Sinkiang is captured by the Japanese, the industrial complex becomes a Japanese industrial complex.
If Sinkiang is re-captured by the Russians, the industrial complex becomes a Russian industrial complex (pg 18), even though the Americans control the territory. The industrial complex cannot move that turn, as it was involved in combat. It can move in later turns. The Americans cannot build an industrial complex in Sinkaing until the Russians move their industrial complex out.
If Sinkiang is re-captured by the Americans, the industrial complex becomes an American industrial complex.
2. If there is only one sea zone between to areas, units may be “bridged” over transports located in that specific sea zone. But how fast are units “bridged”, especially infantry? Do they need one or two turns to enter the opposite coast?
You can load a unit then offload it in the same turn.
Example - Say you have four Japanese transports east of Japan in sea zone 60 (I believe it is). Russia controls Burytia. During the combat move phase, you use your four Japanese transports to pick up six Japanese infantry and two Japanese tanks from Japan. The four Japanese transports unload the six Japanese infantry and two Japanese tanks into Burytia. After carrying out combat, you do your noncombat phase.
3. If ships, carriers and some airplanes (coming from land) attack a sea zone with some enemy ships in it and win the fight, may the airplanes fly back to an inland territory (if they have move points left) or are they forced to land on the carriers involved in the battle (unless they are not destroyed)?
Fighters may fly back to inland territories if they have move points left, or they may land on carriers. You can choose which you want after combat ends. Bombers must fly back to a land territory as bombers cannot land on carriers, and a bomber could not attack if it couldn’t land in the first place.
4. Can submarines attack airplanes generally (I don’t talk about the prefight torpedo attack)? And does it work the other way round?
A submarine can never hit a fighter or bomber under any circumstances. A fighter or bomber can hit a sub.
5. I really don’t think so, but some friends persist on that one: If you have two anti-aircraft-cannons in one territory, can they both fire on attacking airplanes?
Pg. 13, “only one antiaircraft gun per territory can fire”. If the Russians have an antiaircraft gun in Karelia, and the UK has an antiaircraft gun in Karelia, and the Americans have an antiaircraft gun in Karelia, a German fighter that flies over Karelia will still only get shot at by one antiaircraft gun.
6. And: Can an anti-aircraft-gun fire on attacking airplanes only once, before the first round of combat, or every time a new round of combat begins (unless the attacker retreats)?
Antiaircraft guns fire on attacking airplanes only once, during the opening fire round of the first round of combat. After the antiaircraft gun fires once at each attacking fighter and once at each attacking bomber, the AA gun does nothing for the rest of that combat.
Note that battleships provide a support shot if they are in the same zone as a transport unloading into hostile territory, and there was no combat in that sea zone that turn. This is also a one-time attack during the opening fire round of the first round of combat.
Subs fire in the opening fire round in EVERY round of combat.
7. How does a fight submarine vs. submarine work? The rule book says, that this kind of combat is treated like a combat between two normal ships. Does this mean every submarine has a prefight-torpedo-attack or none of both?
No, the combat is NOT really treated like a combat between two normal ships.
First, the attacking submarines fire during the opening fire round of combat. This is NOT the regular fire round, but the opening fire round.
Then, the defender chooses casualties.
Then, the defending submarines fire during the opening fire round of combat. This is NOT the regular fire round, but the opening fire round.
Then the attacker chooses casualties.
Then the regular fire round is carried out (submarines do not fire during this round)
Then attackers can choose to submerge or retreat, and defenders can choose to submerge.
8. Does moving a unit onto a transport cost one of the units move-points? And, the other way round, can a transport move through two sea zones AND unload its units or does that recommends another move point of the transport?
Moving a unit onto a transport costs no move points. A transport can move two sea zones and unload its units. A transport can pick up a unit, move one sea zone, pick up another unit, move another sea zone, then unload both units it picked up.
However, note that if you load a land unit onto a transport, you cannot have moved that land unit other than to put it on the transport. If there is an infantry in Karelia and a transport northwest of Norway, you cannot move the infantry from Karelia into Norway, then pick up the infantry with the transport. Nor could you do it if it were a tank. The transport has to be in a sea zone adjacent to the land territory that contains the land unit you want to pick up.
Also note that if you unload a land unit, you cannot move that land unit after it unloads. So if you unload a tank into Norway, it stays in Norway. The tank cannot move to Karelia that turn.
9. The rule-book says that the Soviet NA “Russian Winter” may only be used once. But isn’t it a little bit weak then?
Better than nothing. Anyways, you shouldn’t use NAs. They are far too good for the Allies. If you MUST use NAs, I recommend you use the LHTR version (Larry Harris Tournament Rule); I noted other people put the link up in this thread. But if you DO use LHTR, note there are a few OTHER changes to the rules as well.
That is it so far.
I would really appreciate you for answering these few questions . I’m sure nearly all of you know the answers!
Thank you and best regards, Reign_of_Light