Noob Question Regarding Land Units VS Air Units and Submerged Subs


  • I was way off on the liberated city part.  I was under the impression that when Germany took Moscow, the UK and USA could produce units right there(in Moscow).  I guess the OOB was referring to the ability to move allied units into previously owned Russian space and if they took that piece of land, they could produce units on it as long as they either build a production doodad or one was previously on it.  I think I got this now, thanks.

    On bids, I think I can see why The axis is at a disadvantage.  I think it’ll be some time before I even offer a bid to the other player, I need some more playing time.

    Disregard that third question, I looked into the “addons” and saw that they were separate games.

    Thanks for the info, it clears quite a few things up.

  • Official Q&A

    Just to make sure that building units is perfectly clear:  :-)

    Units can only be mobilized in a territory that the country has owned since the beginning of its turn and contains an industrial complex (IC).  An IC is always owned by the country that owns the territory it is in.  A country can never mobilize units at an IC that belongs to another country.

    If Germany takes Karelia, the IC in Karelia becomes owned by Germany, and Germany may mobilize units there on the following turn (assuming it still owns Karelia at the beginning of that turn).  If any Allied country takes Karelia back from Germany and the USSR owns Russia, Karelia is “liberated” and its IC revert to the USSR.  If any Allied country takes Karelia back from Germany and the USSR does not own Russia, Karelia is “captured” and that country owns Karelia and its IC.  If any Allied country takes Russia back from the Axis, Russia is “liberated” and reverts to the USSR, along with any other red territories held by the US or UK.  A country can never “capture” the capital of an ally - it always “liberates” it.

    So, the only way that the US or UK may mobilize units in an IC in a red territory is if the Axis has captured both that territory and Russia, and then the US or UK recaptures that territory from the Axis while the Axis still holds Russia.  Until Russia is liberated, the US or UK will own that red territory and may use the IC there.

    Does all this make sense?


  • I think I understand it now.

    So basically, unless Russia is completely wiped off the map, anytime an allied force takes back the capitol, all previously owned “reddish brown” territories that allies control will revert back to Russia.  If Russia is wiped off the map, and an allied force takes the capitol, then that allied force gets to keep that capitol and any other piece of land it takes along the way.

    I’m sorry, I need to add another question in here.  Can the aircraft carrier fire on it’s own or is it like the transport?

  • Official Q&A

    @Heckler409:

    I think I understand it now.

    So basically, unless Russia is completely wiped off the map, anytime an allied force takes back the capitol, all previously owned “reddish brown” territories that allies control will revert back to Russia.  If Russia is wiped off the map, and an allied force takes the capitol, then that allied force gets to keep that capitol and any other piece of land it takes along the way.

    Not exactly.  Any time a country’s capital is liberated by an ally, that country gets its capital back, along with any other of its original territories controlled by allied countries at the time.  It doesn’t matter if that country has been “wiped off the map” or not.

    @Heckler409:

    I’m sorry, I need to add another question in here.  Can the aircraft carrier fire on it’s own or is it like the transport?

    Yes, a carrier can fire, but so can a transport if it’s defending.


  • wow… I’ve completely missed quite a few important bits of information here.  I didn’t think the transport could ever fire.  Ok, I think I have enough info here to get a game going.  Thanks for taking the time and answering my questions.


  • You’ve been loaded up with rules answers, but I do want to chime in about other versions of A&A. None of the standard ones are an expansion of any others. Axis and Allies: Europe and :Pacific are standalone games that have separate maps and somewhat separate rules. I thoroughly enjoyed AAE back when I played it, but it’s pretty broken and kinda stale. To even the game out you have to get rid of the each-side-gets-12-ipcs-to-spend-anywhere rule and just give the Allies a bid of like 20+ I think. Still maybe worth checking out though.

    I’ve only played AAP a few times, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s a much more naval game. All that island-hopping you get the urge to do in A&A and AAR but can rarely pull off well–you get to do that like crazy in AAP.

    I haven’t played the other ones like Battle of the Bulge or Guadalcanal. BoB seemed too much like Breakout: Normandy, and I don’t even know about Guadalcanal.

    I think AAR is such an improvement over original A&A and easily the best one Avalon Hill has put out, but AAE and AAP are also fun, probably even more so than A&A.

    If you’re looking for variants that mess with maps, territories, and rules, check out AAR Enhanced, AAR Historical, and Pact of Steel (which is AAR with some tweaks–and Italy!). And that’s just three variants–there are many more out there. I’ve heard Enhanced is very cool but haven’t gotten the chance to try it out yet.


  • @Krieghund:

    @Heckler409:

    I’m sorry, I need to add another question in here.  Can the aircraft carrier fire on it’s own or is it like the transport?

    Yes, a carrier can fire, but so can a transport if it’s defending.

    Just to clarify:
    when attacking, the Carrier attacks on a 1; the transport can be taken as a casualty, but does not fire
    when defending, the carrier defends on a 3, the transport defends on a 1

    furthermore with carriers  any figs (including ones from other powers) on the carrier are an additional part of the defense, rolling on 4s - i.e, a fully loaded carrier rolls 3 dice hitting on one 3 (carrier) and two 4’s(the 2 figs); when a carrier attacks, any figs from the attacking power may be added to the attack (or they can fly somewhere else).  However, if there are planes from an ally of the attacker on the attacking carrier, they are considered cargo.  This means they do not participate in battle and will go down as well if the ship carrying them sinks.  On both attack and defense, any land units on the transport are cargo and can not participate in the sea battle (and they go down if that transport sinks).


  • Yeah, I should have just looked at the attack/defend board, I think it would have cleared up a few things.

    I need some strategy suggestions here.  I’m the allies and my two buds took the Axis.  We stopped at the end of Turn 2, now beginning on Turn 3 tonight.

    I lost caucus and I’m considering pulling back Russia’s whole front line to Moscow just to defend it.

    Africa is wide open with only UK 1 soldier, 1 fighter no production doodad.  Lost India to Japan.

    I’m up and ready for an assault in the Atlantic with, US 4 transports, 2 battleships, 2 destroyers.  I’ve also got 1 bomber, 1 fighter in the UK.  Transports have 4 soldiers, 3 tanks, 1 artillery.

    Germany has a ton of tanks and soldiers on the Russian front line and in Caucus.  They have 1 fighter, 1 AA in "western Europe.  That’s where I’m attempting to land. They have 1 battleship and 1 transport near Caucus.

    Germany is sitting with 54 ICP’s so after Russia pulls back into Moscow, I really don’t know what he will buy.

    Should I go ahead and Launch an assault there[W Europe] or should I wait and build up a larger force?  Should I focus on getting the US into Africa Instead of Europe?


  • Well, my attempt at a US landing succeeded only to be lost to a simple counter attack.  A couple mis calculations had me in even a worse spot.

    Turns out, Russia[Moscow] held against 2 large German attacks and an attack from Japan right after the second German attack.  I really didn’t think they where worth much.  Looks like Russia is going to take Europe with some interference from the UK and US.  I never thought that would happen… cool game.


  • Just to be thorough and make the point:

    Fricking subs…

Suggested Topics

  • 10
  • 9
  • 16
  • 7
  • 22
  • 8
  • 11
  • 9
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

30

Online

16.8k

Users

38.9k

Topics

1.7m

Posts