Newbie question regarding deployment



  • The first three hexes of the map… what does that mean, exactly? When counting up to three hexes from the edge of the map, do you go in a zig-zag (resulting in less deployment space) or straight along a line of hexes (resulting in more deployment space)?



  • You can deploy in the 1st 3 FULL hexes from the edge of the board.  Don’t count half-hexes, they aren’t used in the game.  Since the board is made of hexes, it is a little zig-zag.

    Have fun, it’s a great game!

    Mot



  • Thanks for the answer. I knew half-hexes didn’t count, but I was confused on whether or not I should start at the first full hex and count up 3 in a straight line, or count up to three in a zig-zag. But now I know that it’s the latter. Thanks again.



  • 3!?….oops, I’ve always done it as 5 hexes, I feel stupid.  :oops:



  • Depends on the map, actually.  The maps with the first 5 sets have more hexes and it is indeed 5 hexes.  The new maps with set 6 (39-45) you setup in the 1st 3 hexes.

    Mot



  • Thanks, I thought I was doing all wrong this whole time.  :roll:


  • 2019 Moderator

    Well, as long as you know the rules it really only matters that your opponent agrees with you.  I take liberties with the rules all the time.  I used to deploy in the first two with the old maps, because I like the “movement to fire” part of the game.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 7
  • 4
  • 3
  • 6
  • 2
  • 8
  • 3
  • 5
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

36
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts