Destroyed carrier and fighters


  • 2007 AAR League

    Also p. 8:

    A land or sea unit may move a number of spaces up to its movement allowance Most units must
    stop when they enter a hostile space. Thus, a unit with a move of 2 could move into a friendly
    space and then a hostile space, or just into a hostile space.
    An air unit’s movement in any complete turn is limited to its total movement allowance. If it
    moves in the combat move phase, it must always reserve enough movement points for the
    noncombat movement phase to reach a safe landing space. Thus, a bomber without long range
    technology can never move 6 spaces to get to a battle site. A fighter without long range
    technology may be able to move 4 spaces to a sea battle, but only if a carrier could be there by the
    conclusion of the mobilize units phase.


  • 2007 AAR League

    Now re: the subs/ACs/Ftrs question, see p. 13 of LHTR 2.0:

    Submarine Casualties and Destroyers
    If a destroyer is present on the battle board in a combat involving enemy submarines, the
    submarines’ casualties can fire back at the normal time in the combat sequence, provided they
    have not already fired in step 2. They remain on the battle board in the casualty zone until Step 6.
    The destroyers provided enough advance warning to allow return fire.

    and p. 27:

    A fighter based on a defending carrier that is destroyed in combat must try to land. It must land
    on a different friendly carrier in the same sea zone, move 1 space to a friendly territory or aircraft
    carrier, or be destroyed. This movement occurs after all of the attacker’s combats have been
    resolved and before the attacker’s noncombat movement phase begins.

    Your fighter based on your attacking carrier launches before combat (even if it is not participating
    in combat), and if it survives, can withdraw to a friendly territory or carrier within range. If any
    fighter is not in an eligible landing space by the end of the noncombat move phase, it is
    destroyed.

    and p. 28:

    Fighter Defense: Whenever a carrier is attacked, its fighters (even those belonging to friendly
    powers) are considered to be defending in the air
    and can be chosen as casualties rather than the
    carrier. (However, a fighter can’t be chosen as a casualty from a submarine hit, because
    submarines can attack only sea units).

    That last part clinches it. WHENEVER a carrier is attacked, the fighters are considered to be in the air.



  • Ender….what ARE you saying if you’re not disagreeing?  :? :? :? :?


  • 2007 AAR League

    @axis_roll:

    Ender….what ARE you saying if you’re not disagreeing?  :? :? :? :?

    I’m just musing, and reading the rules. It seems you are right.



  • @Ender:

    @axis_roll:

    Ender….what ARE you saying if you’re not disagreeing?  :? :? :? :?

    I’m just musing, and reading the rules. It seems you are right.

    Yes, this is an exception to an exception (planes are exceptions in their own ‘normal’ non-combat moves) and then you’ve got their a/c’s being lost from under them…

    Which is why I posted on two boards to get an answer.



  • Oh thanks. I just learnt something.
    I never knew you could use the full movement points of a fighter to attack a sea zone.

    So you have an aircraft carrier in range of that sea zone, and you declare you’ll move it there in non-combat.

    If the fighter dies and aircraft carrier capacity is no longer required, do you still have to move the aircraft carrier there in non-combat?

    If the fighter withdrew and aircraft carrier capacity is required, do you still move the aircraft carrier there in non-combat? The sea zone is hostile.

    Isn’t it funny you attack a sea zone and a fighter has no more movement points left. Are you still allowed to retreat?

    Not to worry. I think LHTR covered it well. Just funny situations. And possibly inconsistent philosophies.



  • It gets even funnier in some special circumstances…

    1.  You send FIGs to attack SZ27, but you need an AC moved to SZ27 to give them a place to land. 
    2.  You have an AC and 1 SUB in SZ29. 
    3.  There are 100 enemy SUBs in SZ28.

    It IS LEGAL to declare your FIGs going to SZ27, that your SUB will attack SZ28, and your AC will travel to SZ27 to recover FIGs in NCM after your SUB clears out SZ28.  Eventhough the odds of winning SZ28 are effectively zero, there is still a chance that you can do it, therefore the declared move above is totally legal.

    And of course when your SUB dies in SZ28, you are prohibited from sailing through, your FIGs in SZ27 go splash, and you can move your AC wherever you like in NCM (like back to SZ35 away from those 100 enemy subs!  😄 )



  • @ncscswitch:

    3.  There are 100 enemy SUBs in SZ28.

    jenforces!  w00t


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 7
  • 28
  • 1
  • 21
  • 30
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

71
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts