Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Naval Units help



  • I wanted to open a thread to discuss problems with naval unit rules.

    To start with:

    1. Can a transport conduct and amphibous assault on an island whilst an enemy transport is in the same sea zone?

    and…

    2. If a destroyer is hit by a sub in opening fire, does it stay on the battle board or is it removed as opening fire casualties?

    and…

    3. If a battleship is hit by a sub it doesn’t sink right? The two hit rule applies to subs as well right?

    Thanks.



  • Oh and one more thing…

    Say you have an ampibous assault with a sea battle before. There is an AC with 2 figs on board. Can those two not fight in the sea battle only for the land battle?



  • 1.  The enemy transport that is in the sea zone that you have to use for the amphib landing MUST be killed before you can attempt the amphib.

    2.  The DST remains alive and can return fire.

    3.  Two hits to kill a BB, whether from SUBs, aircraft, or from another battleship

    4.  It is the ATTACKER’S CHOICE which units (if any) participate in which battle.  With the AC and 2 FIGs, you can send the AC into the Naval Battle, or keep it held back.  The FIGs can fight either at sea, in the land battle, or one for each.  So you can split it up however you like, you just cannot use a unit for more than 1 battle in the same turn.



  • Thanks switch.

    Those are about all the problems I have but if something comes up I’ll be sure to ask you.



  • @ncscswitch:

    1.  The enemy transport that is in the sea zone that you have to use for the amphib landing MUST be killed before you can attempt the amphib.

    2.  The DST remains alive and can return fire.

    3.  Two hits to kill a BB, whether from SUBs, aircraft, or from another battleship

    4.  It is the ATTACKER’S CHOICE which units (if any) participate in which battle.  With the AC and 2 FIGs, you can send the AC into the Naval Battle, or keep it held back.  The FIGs can fight either at sea, in the land battle, or one for each.  So you can split it up however you like, you just cannot use a unit for more than 1 battle in the same turn.

    Exactly.

    Post count +1.  😄



  • @ncscswitch:

    1.  The enemy transport that is in the sea zone that you have to use for the amphib landing MUST be killed before you can attempt the amphib.

    2.  The DST remains alive and can return fire.

    3.  Two hits to kill a BB, whether from SUBs, aircraft, or from another battleship

    4.  It is the ATTACKER’S CHOICE which units (if any) participate in which battle.  With the AC and 2 FIGs, you can send the AC into the Naval Battle, or keep it held back.  The FIGs can fight either at sea, in the land battle, or one for each.  So you can split it up however you like, you just cannot use a unit for more than 1 battle in the same turn.

    With regard to #4, this only applies of the AC and the 2 fighters are owned by the same country.  If a US AC is attacking in a naval battle where it is carrying 2 UK fighters, the fighters do not participate in the battle - they are treated as cargo only.

    I think your example assumed that the fighters and the AC were owned by the same country, but I just wanted that to be clear.

    SS



  • Excellent clarification, thank you!


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games

71
Online

13.4k
Users

33.7k
Topics

1.3m
Posts