Russia: any point of buying something to attack with?

• although i’m new to the game i am familiar with the principle that russia just has to hang on long enough to get some serious help form uk&usa. so following that theory, does that mean you should just by all infantry and be defensive, or should you try to attack back on germany or japan?

you know what they say, the best defence is a good offence

thanks again
    “Budge” Kennedy

• No, you are correct - if you are playing against a decent player, then buy all Infantry, protect you tanks and fighters as if they were gold, and play full defense. When you are feeling safe, usually a couple of turns into the game, it’s probably a good idea to buy a third fighter. The way I almost always see Russia played is defensive the whole game. By the time things are looking good against Germany, Japan will be knocking at your back door and you will have to shift your troops to Russia’s eastern front.

There is one big exception to this though - you can ‘reverse-roles’ and use the US troops to defend Russia from Japan. Press on Germany with the UK and USSR - in which case you will want to start buying some Russian tanks later in the game. This works well, but I think it’s slightly inferior to defending Russia with Russia and attacking Germany with the UK and US.

“The best defense is a good offense” doesn’t really apply to the Allies in the limited scope of this board game - in general the more defensive the Allies play, the better chance they have of winning. They have time and the economy on their side - the longer the game lasts, the better chance the Allies have.