New to a&a



  • can someone explain to me if ships can fire onto land and if land can fire onto sea? if so who can fire (ie subs, destroyes, etc). :mrgreen:



  • No Land unit can fire at any sea units.

    Battleships can fire at units in a land territory as part of a special procedure called a “Shore Bombardment”, which is a support shot for your troops during an Amphibious Assault.  From the rulebook:

    In an amphibious assault,
    your battleships in the same sea zone as the
    offloading transport can conduct shore
    bombardment. Each battleship fires once during
    the opening fire step against enemy land units
    in the territory being attacked. (Any enemy
    units hit by the shore bombardment do not fire
    back, but are immediately lost.) A battleship
    cannot conduct shore bombardment if it was
    involved in a sea combat prior to the
    amphibious assault.

    Air units can fight on land and at sea.  Hope that helps,

    ~Josh



  • @OutsideLime:

    No Land unit can fire at any sea units.

    Battleships can fire at units in a land territory as part of a special procedure called a “Shore Bombardment”, which is a support shot for your troops during an Amphibious Assault.  From the rulebook:

    In an amphibious assault,
    your battleships in the same sea zone as the
    offloading transport can conduct shore
    bombardment. Each battleship fires once during
    the opening fire step against enemy land units
    in the territory being attacked. (Any enemy
    units hit by the shore bombardment do not fire
    back, but are immediately lost.) A battleship
    cannot conduct shore bombardment if it was
    involved in a sea combat prior to the
    amphibious assault.

    Air units can fight on land and at sea.  Hope that helps,

    ~Josh

    Good answer.  Combined Bombardment tech research, which gives destroyers a battleship-like support shot, also lets destroyers attack land units when a transport unloads into a territory, and a destroyer is present with the transport, and the destroyer hasn’t been involved in any other combat that turn.  Note that destroyers don’t come this way normally, you have to research it.



  • so if i unload troops and i have a battleship and destroyer in the same sea territory i get a free shot on land for both the battleship and the destroyer?



  • ONLY if you have the Combined Bombardment technology.

    Otherwise, ONLY the Battleship fires, and then only once for the entire battle, and then only if it did not engage in combat the same turn as the amphibious landing.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

58
Online

13.7k
Users

34.1k
Topics

1.3m
Posts