I am new to the forum and think it’s great that there are so many people who enjoy these games as much as I do. I have been a part of the Axis and Allies world of games for many years, but am somewhat new to Pacific. My friend and I play it almost every Saturday evening to continue to improve our skills.
My question is regarding a debate my friend and I have about an unclear passage in the rules regarding subs . . . I know that when the subs do their “first strike” sneak attack, they cannot attack again in that cycle of combat, since they have already attacked. But, can they still continue to attack in the next cycle of combat? (i.e. the sub makes its sneak attack, and then the attacker attacks, defender defends, casualties are cleared, and then the attacker continues the attack . . . can the sub then attack with its compatriots in that salvo? Or does it stay subdued for the remainder of the entire combat situation?)
While I’m asking a question, I’ll ask one other that we have been trying to figure out . . . if during a combat situation where the defender has multiple transports, if the defender makes the mistake of forgetting to use the transports as casualties (because they’re all loaded down for an amphibious assault), after all other fighting naval units are destroyed, does this mean that the transports are all destroyed? That is what it seems from the rules, but then again, it seems odd if they are not technically part of the fight (even though, in a way, they are).
I would welcome anyone’s take on these issues and look forward to hearing your consensus. I enjoy reading everyone’s posts and different strategies. I hope to use them to improve my game at tomorrow’s game. I apologize if the questions are a bit amateur, but I just wanted to get some clarification.