• I’m a veteran player of Japan, and categorically speaking, you shouldn’t fight the USA in the Pacific, other than destroying forces at Pearl on T1. But I constantly try to think of ways to defeat the USA. I was curious to see if anyone out there has any good ideas on this subject.

I’ve managed to take LA and Panama before, but I can never hold them for long. Perhaps I simply am buying the wrong units. When I go to take LA, here’s what I use: 1-2 Battleships, 1 AC with 2 Fighters, 1 Bomber, 2 Transports with 2 Infantry each. Of course this entails taking Peral or Midway first, and preferrably Alaska too.

The problem I find is that America sees you coming a mile away and can build up a nice little force in DC to step right over and squash you the moment you take LA. You’re left with this awesome navy sitting there and incapable of doing squat. 4 Infantry just can’t hold IMHO.

Anybody have some ideas that might be useful?

• Well Im glad to see your doing something other than the usual.
    I dont really have an answer for you, I haven’t thought it through.
    But, I agree 4 infantry is certainly not enough to hold the Western States.

• Japan will never be able to take the USA. However:

There is a mythical Japanese strategy out there that has yet to be discovered. It involves Japan putting equal amounts of pressure on Russia and the US with the idea that Germany would have some relief from the US but would face more pressure from Russia.

If you can find this White Elephant, you will be one famous Samurai!

We ought to put all of our heads together and try to figure it out just for fun, with the understanding that it will never be as effective as going after Russia full steam.