Yes and Yes.
Fighters on a carrier always defend. Â Even if your fighters are on my carrier, they still defend if we are attacked. Â However if I am the instigator of the attack and move my carrier into combat with your fighters on it, then your fighters do not attack, they are considered cargo on my carrier. Â And if my carrier is sunk, the fighters are sunk with it.
As for transports, yes your posted move is legal. Â Remember the following rules:
1. After you unload units from a transport, those units may not move any more this turn. (ie. a tank may not unload, then move a space).
2. After a transport unloads units, the transport may not move any more this turn.
3. A unit may not load into a transport if it has already moved this turn (ie. a tank may not move a space, then load)
So basically a transport may load then move then unload in the same turn, but it may not unload then load because unloading ends its turn. Â Hope that clears it up. (like mud)
(edit: Baghdaddy beat me to it!)