Eg. assume you hit the sub and the AC at Pearl harbour, and you abort the attack. Does the US fighter get splashed, or can it move to land somewhere safely? I’m looking through the LHTR rules and the FAQ and can’t seem to see any explanation… Ah, found it, I’ll post it here in case anyone has the same question.
LHTR 1.3, p. 19 - “A fighter based on a defending carrier that is destroyed in combat must try to land. It must move 1 space to friendly territory or be destroyed.”
So the US Ftr could then land on Hawaii and move as normal on the US turn.