What happens when you kill an AC that carried Ftrs and retreat?


  • 2007 AAR League

    Eg. assume you hit the sub and the AC at Pearl harbour, and you abort the attack. Does the US fighter get splashed, or can it move to land somewhere safely? I’m looking through the LHTR rules and the FAQ and can’t seem to see any explanation… Ah, found it, I’ll post it here in case anyone has the same question.

    LHTR 1.3, p. 19 - “A fighter based on a defending carrier that is destroyed in combat must try to land. It must move 1 space to friendly territory or be destroyed.”

    So the US Ftr could then land on Hawaii and move as normal on the US turn.



  • The FIG in this case can land at Hawaii (1 space).

    If however, on a Pearl Counter, Japan loses their AC, leaving FIGs flying, and USA retreats, there is no place to land in range, the FIGs go SPLASH!



  • @ncscswitch:

    If however, on a Pearl Counter, Japan loses their AC, leaving FIGs flying, and USA retreats, there is no place to land in range, the FIGs go SPLASH!

    no what are you talking about? they just tie the fighters together a make a big raft and sail into battle.  :lol:



  • Can defenders retreat?  I was under the impression they cannot


  • 2018 2017 '16 '11 Moderator

    Defenders cannot retreat, but if Japan attacks Pearl and withdraws from battle, leaving a fighter without a carrier to land on, it may land in Hawaii (or for arguement’s sake a carrier within one space of it as well.)

    However, if there is no place to land within one space, then undestroyed defending fighters splash into the ocean forever lost to the world.


  • 2007 AAR League

    @Jennifer:

    Defenders cannot retreat, but if Japan attacks Pearl and withdraws from battle, leaving a fighter without a carrier to land on, it may land in Hawaii (or for arguement’s sake a carrier within one space of it as well.)

    However, if there is no place to land within one space, then undestroyed defending fighters splash into the ocean forever lost to the world.

    yep.


  • 2007 AAR League

    @ncscswitch:

    The FIG in this case can land at Hawaii (1 space).

    If however, on a Pearl Counter, Japan loses their AC, leaving FIGs flying, and USA retreats, there is no place to land in range, the FIGs go SPLASH!

    Or land on Hawaii, captured on the initial attack…  😄



  • @Baghdaddy:

    @ncscswitch:

    The FIG in this case can land at Hawaii (1 space).

    If however, on a Pearl Counter, Japan loses their AC, leaving FIGs flying, and USA retreats, there is no place to land in range, the FIGs go SPLASH!

    Or land on Hawaii, captured on the initial attack…  😄

    OR on the carrier nearby that you moved there to house those fighters because you had a forsight that the enemy would do something like this 😄



  • @ShadowHAwk:

    @Baghdaddy:

    @ncscswitch:

    The FIG in this case can land at Hawaii (1 space).

    If however, on a Pearl Counter, Japan loses their AC, leaving FIGs flying, and USA retreats, there is no place to land in range, the FIGs go SPLASH!

    Or land on Hawaii, captured on the initial attack…  😄

    OR on the carrier nearby that you moved there to house those fighters because you had a forsight that the enemy would do something like this 😄

    I don’t think japan gets to move in a carrier from another sea zone…It’s USA’s turn



  • He meant on the prior turn as a back-up just in case…



  • @ncscswitch:

    He meant on the prior turn as a back-up just in case…

    he wasn’t clear on the WHEN part of the a/c movement


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

54
Online

14.9k
Users

35.6k
Topics

1.5m
Posts