Does a canal require a transport and another transport question?


  • Can I move guys across a canal without a transport?  Also, when loading cargo, say a tank and an infantry from England.  Does getting on the boat count as one move?  Can I then more to Eastern Europe, unload and that’s it or can I unload and move to another space?

    If the loading on counts as one move, then how can infantry ever get off the boat except on the next turn?  Thanks.

  • 2007 AAR League

    @johnny:

    Can I move guys across a canal without a transport?

    Yes.

    @johnny:

    If the loading on counts as one move, then how can infantry ever get off the boat except on the next turn?  Thanks.

    1.  Unloading always ends movement for both the transport and the cargo.

    2. You cannot make any other movement with cargo that loads and/or unloads.  (eg. you cannot move an armor 1 then load etc.)

    3.  If it helps, you can think of loading as taking a unit’s full movement, and unloading as movement cost 0 (free move), but always ends movement for all units involved.

    Hope that helps.


  • You can load units onto a transport, move that transport two spaces (assuming the transport does not have to stop in the first space due to enemy units), then offload the units that you loaded onto the transport that turn.

    So you can pick up units from Japan, move your transport from the sea zone east of Japan to the sea zone around French Indochina, and unload your transport there.

    You can not make ANY additional movement with the transported cargo.  As rjclayton mentioned, you can’t load a tank that moved a space.  Nor can you load a tank from Japan (that hadn’t moved that turn), transport that tank to French Indochina, then on the same turn move that tank to India or Kwangtung.  Unloading from a transport ends the transport’s move and the unloaded unit’s turn.


  • Can you move a tank two and load on a transport?  or would the load on the transport be the third (and illegal) move?

  • Official Q&A 2007 AAR League

    Land units must be adjacent to the seazone where the TRN will pick them up at the start of movement. Can’t move to that territory and be picked up. They also can’t move after they are unloaded.

  • 2007 AAR League

    @johnny:

    Can you move a tank two and load on a transport?  or would the load on the transport be the third (and illegal) move?

    @rjclayton:

    2. You cannot make any other movement with cargo that loads and/or unloads.  (eg. you cannot move an armor 1 then load etc.)

    Please read first before posting.


  • @rjclayton:

    @johnny:

    Can you move a tank two and load on a transport?  or would the load on the transport be the third (and illegal) move?

    @rjclayton:

    2. You cannot make any other movement with cargo that loads and/or unloads.  (eg. you cannot move an armor 1 then load etc.)

    Please read first before posting.

    I saw it after I posted.  Sorry.

  • 2007 AAR League

    no problems.


  • So you can pick up units from Japan, move your transport from the sea zone east of Japan to the sea zone around French Indochina, and unload your transport there.

    Is that right? I thought that you only could load and unload in the same move if:

    1. Its a combat move.

    2. You have an armour opn the transport. They can unload since an armour has 2 in movement.

    Am I wrong?

  • '19 Moderator

    Yes, you are incorrect.  Loading and unloading are considered the movement of a ground unit, wether it’s combat or noncombat.

  • 2007 AAR League

    @Kristofer:

    So you can pick up units from Japan, move your transport from the sea zone east of Japan to the sea zone around French Indochina, and unload your transport there.

    Is that right? I thought that you only could load and unload in the same move if:

    1. Its a combat move.

    2. You have an armour opn the transport. They can unload since an armour has 2 in movement.

    Am I wrong?

    You are wrong.

    Forget that armour have 2 movement and infantry/artillery have 1.  It doesn’t affect transports at all.  If a unit loads, unloads, or both in a turn, you can NEVER move it more than that in the same turn.

    Additionally, you are allowed to:
    1a) move transport 0-2 spaces
    l1b) oad transport
    1c) move transport 0-2 spaces
    1d) unload transport

    as long as the transport does not move more than 2 total spaces.  However, you cannot:
    2a) move tranport 0-2 spaces
    2b) unload transport
    2c) move transport 0-2 spaces
    2d) oad transport

    because as soon as the transport unloads in 2b) the transport and it’s cargo can not do anything else.

    Additionally, moves 1a) to 1d) can be done during combat or non-combat, depending on whether or not there is combat occuring with the transport and cargo.

    Hope that makes sense and clears it up for you.


  • ok, I here you. I guess weve been playng wrong then for a long time. This makes it a bit easier for Japan to get troops into Asia.

  • Official Q&A 2007 AAR League

    @Kristofer:

    ok, I here you. I guess weve been playng wrong then for a long time. This makes it a bit easier for Japan to get troops into Asia.

    Japan has all kinds of troubles if you aren’t working the TRN situation right.


  • Your whole game has all kinds of troubles if you aren’t working the TRN situation right.

    ~Josh

    PS - Except for Russia.  Russia should be just fine.

  • Official Q&A 2007 AAR League

    @OutsideLime:

    Your whole game has all kinds of troubles if you aren’t working the TRN situation right.

    ~Josh

    PS - Except for Russia.  Russia should be just fine.

    So say we all.


  • @frimmel:

    @Kristofer:

    ok, I hear you. I guess weve been playng wrong then for a long time. This makes it a bit easier for Japan to get troops into Asia.

    Japan has all kinds of troubles if you aren’t working the TRN situation right.

    Indeed, so now I can be even more proud over the wins I had with Japan playing with the wrong rules!  😄


  • @rjclayton:

    @johnny:

    Can I move guys across a canal without a transport?

    Yes.

    @johnny:

    If the loading on counts as one move, then how can infantry ever get off the boat except on the next turn?  Thanks.

    3.  If it helps, you can think of loading as taking a unit’s full movement, and unloading as movement cost 0 (free move), but always ends movement for all units involved.

    Hope that helps.

    I always think of movement as time based.
    A tank can drive faster then an infantry unit so it can move 2 times the distances in the same amount of time.
    Boarding a ship with a armor unit might take the same amount of time as for an infantry unit and unloading also takes time. Furthermore since the ship is 1 and travels at the same speed ( would be fun having part of the ship arving before the rest ) so they lost the same amount of time in the transport.
    This also solves the why cant i move after combat because combat takes time and so you dont have any time left to move again.


  • yes, but then again dont forget about japans lightning assault. ex. move TRNS from japan to midway assault move two spaces and assault eastern us. or from japan move two spaces south across asian border assault india then move two again and your practically to africa. if played right jpans transports can cover 6 spaces in one turn(lightnin assault then non-combat move)


  • I think you misunderstand movement.  A transport doesn’t get a combat move, then a noncombat move.  It gets either or.  Once a transport has unloaded its units, that’s IT for the round.  No more movement.

    Lightning assaults allow you to break that rule slightly, but they don’t allow you to make a second full combat move.  They allow your transport to unload in two locations while still under the normal constraints of their combat movement.

    For example, a Japanese lightning-transport (JLT) with 2 units aboard could sail to the seazone between Japan and the mainland, then unload 1 unit into Japan and 1 onto the mainland.  Normal transports cannot do this.

    OR, a JLT could sail one space south from Japan, drop a unit into Kwangtung, then, still during the same Combat Move, sail aother space further south and drop a unit into French Indo-China.  Again, a normal transport couldn’t do this.

    ~Josh


  • That would be a very powerful NA for Japan the way you play it, btw!  Just imagine the possibilities!  :evil:

    ~Josh

  • 2007 AAR League

    Here are a couple of other quirks regarding troop transports.

    1. If you load and unload troops in the same turn ALL units on board must land.

    2. If you had troops on board a transport at the beginning of your turn, you can opt to land only 1 of those units.  The other unit must remain aboard, it can NOT land in a different territory.

    3. You cannot load AA guns during combat movement, AA guns only move during non-combat.  So if you plan to bring an AA gun & 1inf on one of your transports it has to be done during NCM.

    4. If your transport carrying an AA gun is sunk, the AA gun is lost.  This is the only way AA guns can be destroyed.

  • 2007 AAR League

    @jsp4563:

    Here are a couple of other quirks regarding troop transports.

    1. If you load and unload troops in the same turn ALL units on board must land.

    From LHTR 1.3 p23
    “It may also remain at sea with the cargo still
    aboard (but only if the cargo remaining aboard
    was loaded in a previous turn or was loaded
    this turn in the noncombat move phase).”

    A unit loaded in a CM must disembark that same CM.  If two units load in a CM, they must both disembard that same CM.

    A unit loaded in a NCM can remain onboard even if the other unit unloads as part of CM on a later turn.

    @jsp4563:

    2. If you had troops on board a transport at the beginning of your turn, you can opt to land only 1 of those units.  The other unit must remain aboard, it can NOT land in a different territory.

    3. You cannot load AA guns during combat movement, AA guns only move during non-combat.  So if you plan to bring an AA gun & 1inf on one of your transports it has to be done during NCM.

    4. If your transport carrying an AA gun is sunk, the AA gun is lost.  This is the only way AA guns can be destroyed.


  • I do not believe that part of the original question was ever answered, here - “Does a canal require a transport…?”  It does not.  All non-sea units may, freely, cross a canal.  Therefore, the British troop may join the fight in Egypt, and troops that are in Panama are on either side of the canal.

  • 2007 AAR League

    One thing that I thought I would verify with this canal thread is

    Aircraft can “use a canal” like a ship in terms of counting spaces traveled, regardless of who owns the land.

    For example:
    Japanese CV in SZ36 launches two FTRs
    FTRs SZ36 -> SZ35 -> SZ34 -> SZ15 (attack British DD) -> land in German occupied Anglo-Egypt.

    Some questions are:

    • Do FTRs use the canals like ships?
      ****(Does a FTR traveling from SZ19 to SZ20 spend a movement point in Panama?)
      ****(Does a FTR traveling from SZ34 to SZ15 spend a movement point in Anglo-Egypt or Trans-Jordan?)

    • Do AA guns in canal territories engage aircraft that use the canal?
      ****(Does an AA gun in Panama engage a FTR traveling from SZ20 to SZ19?)
      ****(Does an AA gun in Trans-Jordan engage a FTR traveling from SZ34 to SZ15?)
      ****(Do both AA guns in Anglo-Egypt and Trans-Jordan engage a FTR traveling from SZ15 to SZ34?)

    Where is that Larry Harris guy?


  • @dmcgee1:

    I do not believe that part of the original question was ever answered, here - “Does a canal require a transport…?”  It does not.  All non-sea units may, freely, cross a canal.  Therefore, the British troop may join the fight in Egypt, and troops that are in Panama are on either side of the canal.

    Well, land units can CROSS a canal without a Transport, but they can’t travel THROUGH one without a Transport  :evil:

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 6
  • 10
  • 2
  • 4
  • 20
  • 17
  • 34
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

65
Online

15.1k
Users

36.0k
Topics

1.5m
Posts