The only tricky move in combat and non-combat of the same unit is armor, really. Armor may blitz into and out of combat during the combat move phase. (Assuming the territory blitzed was empty.)
Other then that, “combat” ends all movement. (Aircraft exempted.)
The thing is, you can pretty much take out the US with a lesser landing than that…
Japan lands in Alaska and WCan from SZ63
Japan lands in Mexico from Hawaii
Germany lands in Panama, Cuba, and ECan.
USA (the 48 states) has not been TOUCHED , but they are effectiely out of it, at least for many, many turns (unless the UK can get the German ships, or Russia can kick Japan out of Asia in the same turn)
How are you going to pull of a landing like that? Germany shouldn’t have a chance of landing t three different territories
It’s assumed that Japan has 5 inf 5 tank in W. Canada, while Germany lands 4 inf 4 tank or so with a Baltic transport buy on G1 followed by move to W. Europe followed by transport to E. Canada. Following turn allows landing in Panama and Cuba as US is on defense.
HOW COULD U MISS DAT? LOLZ!
(I’m kidding . . . anyone could miss that. Hell, I still don’t get it, really.)
I was poking around over at Avalon Hill boards and noticed that they are moving them to Gleemax. I thought I’d spread the word for anybody who only checks in over there occasionally and wanted to move their account.
I also figure this is a good chance to spread the word about how cool it is here. There seems to be disappointment about not having custom avatars or user polls at Gleemax.
Or, if you are like me, just raid chips (and extra Japan INF and ARM, something else I have run out of in the last 2 games I played) from your Milton Bradley Classic AA game. Exactly the same size and style
Hey lord BTW the 8/8 and 8/6 means it rolls a secondary attack. German Jet fighters have this because they were able to use their speed to attack a fighter two times in the time it would take that prop plane to get a good look at a Me-262. They were able to even ignore fighters and strike at bombers and then get a pass at the fighters again.
Battleships get a secondary attack that is not preemtive. The first (highter number) is a preemtive attack.
The carriers take 2 hits
german Type XX1 is preemtive even against destroyers and cruisers
Katyuskas are preemtive
self propelled artillery hits go against tanks first
armor hits go against artillery or armor
infantry must go on infantry first
Artillery attack preemtively in the first round only
Tanks +1 attack with matching plane 1/1
Infantry +1 attack with matching artillery 1/1
Artillery +1 movement with matching armor 1/1
many other rules make the numbers look more understandable. Many ask why does a battleship etc. attack twice… but if you look at the other rules as a whole the values are perfect.