Once victory is achieved on a board, there is no more combat movement or resolve combat on that board. The victor keeps control and remains getting IPC’s for all territories gained. He also regains control for territories he owned at the beginning OF THE GAME. Also you may now non combat move into enemy owned territories and sea zones leaving mixed forces, for example if Japan won the Pacific game a American battleship and Japanese battleship may share a sea zone and do not ever resolve combat. You cannot non-combat move onto an enemy capital after a game is completed for that board. Example, Japan cannot drop of troops on United States or New South Wales. However if you took the enemy capital to win the game you keep control of it and the original owner and his allies may not non-combat move into it.
Airplanes can attack ships. Destroyer is needed if you want to attack Subs.
As for invading England it is possible. I have done it before. Those first 12 IPCs you get, can easily go for a destroyer for the Germans. Following that. You need to take the convoys in the Atlantic. You should have a good amount of land units as it already in the game. I suggest just mainly buying transports with perhaps a destroyer here and there depending what the UK does. Besides Destroyers give you that nice bombardment which according to the rules I have is 3 or less. (I think in 2nd edition rules it is “2” or less). Either way when you know you have more forces then what is currently on the UK, send your airforce and units in. In the mean time before that just keep sending units accross the channel to keep the UK forces down.
In short you have to be very careful. Usally if you cannot take UK quick enough the USSR will take you over. For me it comes down to being 1 turn for victory or defeat.
I’m also thinking that an easy way to leave the British Bonus Infantry rule alone while keeping the game balanced would be to connect Iran to India, and allow for amphib assaults of Egypt via the Red Sea. That way Japan actually has the option of entering the theatre without having to go all the way around the freaking world.
Yes, connecting the Red Sea interboard space to Egypt and India to Iran makes sense.