A&A revised: Winning with cities?
strategic_thinker last edited by
There is one design flaw with this game. It is a better map and better rules, yes! However, it is possible to capture all caoitols and still not win and keep playing. This situation was occurring in one of my games as I (axis) owned Russia and England capitols but kept losing other key cities and owned most of the board… This game should be played with ipc victory. It makes more sense with finality to it. The designers never considered this.
I suggest rule changes that would make it more final. First, if you capture 2 capitols, the game should be over. Or second, play with ipc victory. What do you think? I appreciate opinions on this dilemma.
How many VC are you requiring?
Also, if you have Germany, Japan, Russian and England, how in the world do the allies have the forces to keep taking VCs???
ShadowHAwk last edited by
Well the cities are great because it gives you some other means of winning then invading UK/USSR.
It will get the game more dynamic then just having 1 huge stack in your capital and just hold out for 10 turns because of it.
Besides if you got 2 capitals how on earth are they taking cities back from you and with what troops ? They cant build new stuff so after 2 turns he will be out of forces anyway.
But then again you dont have to play with cities if you dont want to.
Guest last edited by
With 2 capitals gone, and no ability for Russia and England to replenish troops… just keep trading the non-capital VC’s and killing enemy units. He will never have more than what you see right now (except for the US), so once they are dead, they are gone. And Japan and Germany jsut keep building… about 3 times the rate that USA can produce.
You might check the house rules forum. I’m pretty sure there is some stuff there about alternate victory conditions.
If two capitols on one side are gone it is de facto over. If you had UK and Mos then you should have had no problem grinding out the victory. How could Mos and UK build new units? No capitols, no IPCs, no new units. You should also have been able to outspend them by tons. And not had any problem building units where you needed them.
Also your opponents didn’t pay you the courtesy of surrender when you captured the second capitol? Sounds like sore losers to me.
Guest last edited by
And just FYI…
In Second Edition by Milton Bradley and in the old Hasbro CD (3rd Ed.), control of 2 Allied capitals by the Axis was a defined Axis victory.