Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

After losing main capital, can you still buy if you have an I.C. elsewhere?



  • Hello all,

    If you lose your main capital (Japan for instance) but you have an Industrial complex elsewhere (say Indochina). Do you collect income after the next round :? I am aware that Japan loses her money directly after losing the home land. But after that?
    Oh, Japan does not have the opportunity to retake the home land in their next turn.

    Thanks in advance for all information!



  • You can’t collect income untill you (or an ally) liberate your capital


  • 2007 AAR League

    And all IPC you had are given to the player that takes your capitol.

    So short answer is no becuse you have no cash.



  • Well you can buy if you lost your capital but this is verry dependant on the situation. Only 1 exists 😄

    You lose your capital and after that you take an opponents capital.
    Since you get his ipc’s you got some to buy with. Although this will be a verry strange situation for instance.

    For instance Russia taking germany and on the next turn germany captures russia.
    In theory it can be done but in practice i never saw this situation ever.


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    @ShadowHAwk:

    Well you can buy if you lost your capital but this is verry dependant on the situation. Only 1 exists 😄

    You lose your capital and after that you take an opponents capital.
    Since you get his ipc’s you got some to buy with. Although this will be a verry strange situation for instance.

    For instance Russia taking germany and on the next turn germany captures russia.
    In theory it can be done but in practice i never saw this situation ever.

    I saw it once.  Japan took Russia after America took Japan.

    We didn’t know what to do.  We decided that 50% of the cash went to Japan to spend and 50% to America because people on the front line were not yet informed to send it to the new Japanese capital.



  • This is a good question, I wonder what the answer is…


  • 2007 AAR League

    It should be that Japan get´s all Russia IPC alone, since Japan did fall first they give the cash to USA, the Japan take Russia and get´s Russias cash.

    Easy  😉


  • 2007 AAR League

    @Jennifer:

    @ShadowHAwk:

    You lose your capital and after that you take an opponents capital.
    Since you get his ipc’s you got some to buy with. Although this will be a verry strange situation for instance.

    I saw it once.  Japan took Russia after America took Japan.

    Actually you skip all phases but combat moves and NCMs, meaning you can’t collect income, and in answer to the original poster’s question - you can’t make purchases at all even if you should happen to sack some money meanwhile. This is from LHTR(box rules might say otherwise):

    The former owner of the captured capital is still in the game but cannot collect income from any territories he or she still controls and cannot buy new units nor research technologies until the capital is liberated. That player skips all but the combat move, conduct combat, and noncombat move phases. If that power or one on its side liberates the capital, the owning player can once again collect income from territories he or she controls, including territories reverting control to him or her. Even so, the player cannot yet purchase new units. It’s a long road back from losing a capital.


  • 2007 AAR League

    damn, defeated by the “it´s in the rules” argument….

    Sankt that is soo old…  😛


  • 2007 AAR League

    @Nix:

    damn, defeated by the “it´s in the rules” argument….

    Sankt that is soo old…   😛

    Yeah, I know. I felt like I was crashing your party with all your wild theories and misconceptions. Then I felt obligated to do just that so you wouldn’t entangle yourselves in an even larger mess you couldn’t get out of.

    All good intentions, baby!  😄



  • Taking an enemy capital while yours is enemy held results in the destruction of money… the raided IPC’s can’t be claimed, they just leave the game.

    So, in the example above, Japan can still help the axis by destroying Russia’s income, but Japan is still zero income, zero dollars.

    Oh, interesting House Rule from an era long past…

    Capital Relocation…
    If your original capital is captured, and you are in control of an enemy capital, you can re-locate your government to the former enemy capital.  you still lose all of your money when your original capital is sacked, and you obviously will not have money to purchase on your next turn.  But, at teh end of the next turn, your government has settled in to their new headquarters and collects any income from territories they still control, and continue from the former enemy capital…


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    I’;d prefer to just have Japan, in this case, hold the money until their capital is liberated.



  • You are out your capital, and you want to be greedy?  LOL


  • 2018 2017 2016 '11 Moderator

    Hey, when you are out of a capital, is it REALLY greed or desperation???


  • 2007 AAR League

    maybe both



  • @ncscswitch:

    Taking an enemy capital while yours is enemy held results in the destruction of money… the raided IPC’s can’t be claimed, they just leave the game.

    Nop it does not LHTR version from may 2006 clearly states.
    “In addition you collect all the unspend IPC from the former owner of the capital”

    And “the player cannot collect income from any territories”

    So the money is not lost it goes to the capturing player that cant do anything with it but can hold onto it. It can make a difference if the capital is librated since you can then buy immediately.


  • 2007 AAR League

    @ShadowHAwk:

    So the money is not lost it goes to the capturing player that cant do anything with it but can hold onto it. It can make a difference if the capital is librated since you can then buy immediately.

    I concur with SH. There is nothing in the rules stating you can’t seize money during your turn even if you have no capital. You sack the money during combat movement phase. Clearly the money aren’t added to Tokyo’s treasury, but surely the Jap tank commander can hold the money until such time Tokyo should be liberated.



  • I am going to ahve to dig into that and see what I find out… no time this AM though…


  • 2007 AAR League

    Is this really such a “common” problem that´anyone really need sto spend time looking it up?


  • 2007 AAR League

    1. It happened to Jen once. (or so she claims!)
    2. It’s about rules-question-answering-credibility…

    Yeah, this has to be looked thoroughly into!  😄



  • I can’t see it happening all the time, but ofter our games come down to who’s going to fall first Germany or Russia. And in many cases it’s Germany that picks up Russia.


  • 2007 AAR League

    So, Sankt it has become a matter of “honor” right ?  :roll:  :roll:  :roll:    😄


  • 2007 AAR League

    @Nix:

    So, Sankt it has become a matter of “honor” right ?   :roll:  :roll:  :roll:     😄

    YEAH!

    Honestly… no.  🙂

    I could be wrong as always, but as far as I can see our local rules-guru is wrong this time. Doesn’t hurt to unite the rules interpretations before you might need them.

    Btw, Nix, how long is our game on hold?  😛


  • 2007 AAR League

    I will dig it up towmorrow.  (becuse i think i wasn´t in such a “bad” place)

    But im using triple a for the future i think, goes soo much faster (but it´s funn to type sometimes too)

    School is starting soon so now i´ll have more time for this…  And i seriously have to fix my stats…  (maybe play Allied more  😄  )



  • Ah, found it…

    It is a matter of terminology.  Specifically, the terms now used are “collect” instead of the old “raid”

    Here is the excerpt from LHTR…

    Capturing and Liberating Capitals
    If you capture a territory containing an enemy capital (Washington, Moscow, London, Berlin, or Tokyo), follow the same procedure as for capturing a territory. Add the captured territory’s income value to your national production. In addition, you collect all unspent IPCs from the former owner of the captured capital.

    Notice that it says that you COLLECT income (emphasis added above), you do not raid it, seize it, or anything else, you COLLECT it.

    Then there is this…

    PHASE 7: COLLECT INCOME
    In this phase, you earn production income to finance future attacks and strategies. Look up your power’s national production level (indicated by your control marker) on the National Production Chart, and collect that number of IPCs from the bank. Double-check your income by counting up the value of all the territories you control.

    If your capital is under an enemy power’s control, you cannot collect income. A power cannot lend or give IPCs to another power, even if both powers are on the same side.

    So… since you COLLECT the IPC’s held by the enemy if you take their capital, and if you CANNOT COLLECT income when your own capital is enemy held… you do NOT get the money for taking an enemy capital when your own has fallen.


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 11
  • 15
  • 14
  • 11
  • 157
  • 2
  • 24
  • 24
I Will Never Grow Up Games

42
Online

13.2k
Users

33.4k
Topics

1.3m
Posts