Question: AA guns & Amphibious Assaults


  • 2007 AAR League

    If you load a transport with an AA & Inf for an amphibious assault does the AA gun land during combat or non-combat the rules say that all units from a transport have to land at the same time, but AA guns can’t accompany attacking forces.


  • 2007 AAR League

    I think the AA still drops with the Inf as you stated its just his attacking power is 0 (worthless) same deal as an attacking transport.



  • Under LHTR, in the description of AA guns, it does include a specific exception to AA guns ONLY moving in NCM when being carried on TRNs.

    It is not 100% conclusive.  But it is more than enough to make me think that the AA gun does indeed offload in COMBAT movement (but of course cannot “attack” so it is ignored as a unit for the attacker).  If the Attacker wins the combat, they finish setting up the AA gun in NCM, and it protects the newly captured territory.  If the attacker is thrown back into the sea, the defender gains the AA gun.

    At least, that is how I read it…


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 34
  • 14
  • 61
  • 10
  • 16
  • 4
  • 14
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

70
Online

14.9k
Users

35.6k
Topics

1.5m
Posts