@indignation said in Pacific question for Krieghund!:
We’re playing Pacific 1940 second edition, when a declaration of war is declared by either side, when does this occur before combat moves or after combat moves? The reason why I am asking is There is a U.K. destroyer in sea zone 37 and if Japan declares war on round 3 does it have to go into battle with that destroyer in 37 or can it make its combat move ignoring it and then declare war once it’s in season zone 39 on India?
See page 11 of the Rulebook, the “Declaring War”-box:
“War must be declared on your turn at the beginning of the Combat Move phase, before any combat movements are made, unless otherwise specified in the political rules.
An actual attack is not required. Once a state of war is entered into, all territories and sea zones controlled by or containing units belonging to the power or powers on which you declared war instantly become hostile to your units, and the normal restrictions of moving into or through hostile spaces apply, with one exception. During your Combat Move phase in which you entered into a state of war, your transports that are already in sea zones that have just become hostile may be loaded in those sea zones (but not in other hostile sea zones). In effect, transports may be loaded in their initial sea zones for amphibious assaults before war is declared, while the sea zone is still friendly.”
In your sceanrio the “Sea Units Starting in Hostile Seazones”-rules (page 13) apply.
2nd question, if 2 countries are currently not at war and occupy the same sea zone ,( Example: Japan and U.K.) then next round Japan declares war, does that sea zone become hostile forcing them to go into battle, or can they ignore the opposing force and move their units away without going in the battle, or just leave a few war ships in that sea zone to address the enemy unit?
According to what was stated above if Japan declares war on UK the seazone becomes immediately hostile. The options again are listed in the “Sea Units Starting in Hostile Seazones”-rules. You may for example stay to conduct combat or leave to avoid combat. Or both.
Also the above stated exception might apply.
3rd question, Can the United States, when not at war, use a friendly powers naval or air base to extend its moves?
No. Rulebook page 14 - Powers not at War… -box:
“The United States: The United States begins the game neutral, and as such
isn’t initially part of the Allies. Being at war with no one and having a strict isolationist
policy, the United States has especially tight restrictions. It may not move land
or air units into neutral territories. It may not move units into territories or onto
ships belonging to another power or use another power’s naval bases, nor may
another power move land or air units into its territories or onto its ships or use
its naval bases. In addition, the United States may not end the movement of its
sea units in sea zones that are adjacent to Japanese-controlled territories.”