Can I get a link to the rule you are referencing in regard to originally colored territories?
“Major industrial complexes can only be built on originally controlled territories (this includes upgrading minor ones). Likewise they may not be upgraded when captured. Major industrial complexes are reduced to minor when captured. The original owner of the territory may upgrade it if the territory is recaptured.”
Is all I can find on our “Alpha” ruleset. I’m not arguing, I’m just curious if Japan can build a Major on Manchuria or Kaingsu - or if it has to include the national territory icon in order to be considered “originally controlled”
Again sorry for the wording of “originally colored territories”, it was a poor choice of wording on my part (as Little_Boot pointed out). A tt has to have your roundel on it to be considered one of your original tt’s. You can’t build a Jap major on Manchuria, or Kaingsu (they are Chinese original tt’s).