• AA 1940, Pacific: 1. If an US amphib assault of destroyer and 2 loaded transports hit the Carolina Islands, and the defender scrambles 3 fighters and kills the destroyer, can the transports retreat to a friendly adjacent sea zone (I know can’t unload) or are they killed?
    2. If a US transport picks up 2 ANZAC infantry, can they goto an enemy island during non-combat phase? There are no enemy ships there but could scramble enemy fighters. During the ANZAC turn, they send in ANZAC combat ships and planes to support the landing of their troops from the US transports. Ok?

  • 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

    @mikemikemike said in More for Amphib Assaults, Pac 40:

    AA 1940, Pacific: 1. If an US amphib assault of destroyer and 2 loaded transports hit the Carolina Islands, and the defender scrambles 3 fighters and kills the destroyer, can the transports retreat to a friendly adjacent sea zone (I know can’t unload) or are they killed?

    The surviving transports can retreat to a non-hostile sea zone through which one of them travelled, but only after all the hits from the defenders are assessed. If the scrambled fighters got more than one hit in the situation you described, each hit beyond the first is assigned to one of the transports. Any units on a transport that is hit are lost.

    The transports can retreat but cannot unload. In this case, on the next Japanese turn the transport is probably dead unless there are Allied ships guarding the transport.

    1. If a US transport picks up 2 ANZAC infantry, can they goto an enemy island during non-combat phase? There are no enemy ships there but could scramble enemy fighters. During the ANZAC turn, they send in ANZAC combat ships and planes to support the landing of their troops from the US transports. Ok?

    When loading Allied troops on a US transport, the transport cannot move until the US turn and the troops cannot be unloaded until the Allied power’s turn comes back around. The sequence you described is:

    ANZAC: Load troops onto a US transport during ANZAC non-combat movement.
    US: Move transport:
    ANZAC: Unload troops during either combat or non-combat movement. (Note that in this case the transport cannot retreat as it did not move.)

    Hope this helps!

    Marsh


  • @marshmallowofwar ok, and the US Transport with the ANZACs; yes did follow those rules and sequence. So, the US transport can go into the ‘empty’ SZ off the Carolina Islands during its US non-combat even though the islands have an air base and enemy fighters stationed there? (during the ANZAC phase, they moved in cruisers and fighters into the SZ for the Amphib landing and won.)

  • 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

    @mikemikemike said in More for Amphib Assaults, Pac 40:

    @marshmallowofwar ok, and the US Transport with the ANZACs; yes did follow those rules and sequence. So, the US transport can go into the ‘empty’ SZ off the Carolina Islands during its US non-combat even though the islands have an air base and enemy fighters stationed there? (during the ANZAC phase, they moved in cruisers and fighters into the SZ for the Amphib landing and won.)

    Yes, the US transport can go to the sea zone as long as it does not contain any surface warships belonging to a hostile power.

    If the ANZAC amphibious assault is met with a scramble that succeeds in killing all the attacking units in the sea zone, the US transport cannot be killed because it technically is not participating in the attack. This example is specifically pointed out in the rules.

    Marsh


  • Wait I’m confused, can’t fighters only scramble if there’s a naval battle? I didn’t think they could initiate it

  • 2022 2021 '20

    @tin-can-of-the-sea The scramble is from the Axis forces in Caroline Islands defending against the amphibious assault.

    You are correct. Scramble only occurs on defensive side. And that is what is happening here. Only there is no naval battle, only the assault.


  • @surfer so if there’s no naval battle what are the fighters doing? They don’t get to attack the destroyer do they?

  • 2022 2021 '20

    Fighters can scramble to defend against naval attacks AND amphibious assaults. All naval units associated with the country conducting the amphibious assault in the SZ are considered part of the amphibious assault.
    So the fighters will defend against all attacking units. But if there were US units (like the transport, or a DD), they would not defend against those.

  • '20

    @tin-can-of-the-sea yes, aircraft can scramble to defend a sea zone from an amphibious attack even if there’s no defending ships in the zone


  • @tincanofthesea just getting back to this scenario: An empty US transport is in an Australian waters. On ANZAC’s turn, two ANZAC units (lets say INF and Arty) load up. On the US turn, non-combat, it sails to Carolina Islands that are occupied by some Japanese fighters. There are no Japanese naval assets in the waters around the Carolina Islands. There is no combat and no assault at this time. On ANZAC’s turn, the INF and Arty ‘assault’ or ‘unload’ and attack the Japanese forces on the Carolina Islands. Wow… this appears to be very unique.

  • Official Q&A

    @mikemikemike Yes, but bear in mind that unless ANZAC brings some sea and/or air units to the sea zone to support the assault, Japan can simply scramble and stop it in its tracks. If ANZAC brings nothing and Japan scrambles, there is no battle, as the ANZAC land units are cargo and the US units can’t attack on ANZAC’s turn. However, since ANZAC can’t clear the sea zone of defending units (scrambled fighters), the assault cannot proceed, and the ANZAC units must remain on the transports.


  • @krieghund But, can Japan scramble against US ships when it is ANZACs attack? That is, what if the US also put some surface warships in that sea zone in its non-combat turn- would Japan have to ‘fight’ them in the scramble or just the ANZAC ships? This is really complicated and might be not addressed by any current rules or errata. thanks (and this is mostly acedemic)

  • Official Q&A

    @mikemikemike said in More for Amphib Assaults, Pac 40:

    But, can Japan scramble against US ships when it is ANZACs attack? That is, what if the US also put some surface warships in that sea zone in its non-combat turn- would Japan have to ‘fight’ them in the scramble or just the ANZAC ships?

    Japan is scrambling against the ANZAC amphibious assault, not the US ships. The US units are not part of the attack, as it’s ANZAC’s turn, not the US’s.

    This is really complicated and might be not addressed by any current rules or errata. thanks (and this is mostly acedemic)

    This is addressed by the multi-national forces rules on page 21 of the Rulebook, and by the following FAQ entry:

    Q. Say the United Kingdom launches an amphibious assault from a US transport without any supporting UK sea or air units in the sea zone, and then Japan scrambles. What happens?
    A. In effect, nothing happens. The US transport doesn’t participate in the sea battle because it’s not the US’s turn. Since there are no attacking sea or air units, there is no sea battle. However, the sea zone can’t be cleared of defending combat units, so the amphibious assault can’t proceed.

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

45
Online

16.3k
Users

38.0k
Topics

1.6m
Posts