National Objectives vs balance

• Question for serious players of Anniversary:

Do you play with NOs? If you do what is the bid like?

I have found it pretty heavily in favor of the axis so generally leave this optional rule to the side but am still curious.

• @the_good_captain It’s just not Anniversary without NOs, don’t like playing bids either however I do move some units around the map to make it more balanced between both sides!

• We play both 41 and 42 with NO’s and never do bids. We probably get about a 60/40 Axis/Allied win ratio.

Without NO’s just doesn’t feel right.

• '21 '18 '17 '15

I find the NO’s overdo it. When one side starts getting ahead they streak ahead. I find it more balanced turning them off.
    But, i’m only a newbie, i have played most versions since the classic, but mostly against ai or solo

• @the_good_captain said in National Objectives vs balance:

Question for serious players of Anniversary:

I have found it pretty heavily in favor of the axis so generally leave this optional rule to the side but am still curious.

In the 1941 scenario of the mentioned game, the NOs have four main effects, in order of importance:

1. They unbalance the game in favour of Axis to the point where no good player would seriously competitively play it without a bid (of course, as long as you are not using Low Luck, the randomness will assure a decent chance for Allies to win). This is particularly upsetting as the game without NOs is actually highly balanced (a rare case in the franchise if I may say so).
    2. They reduce the importance of bombing raiding, especially of the bombing raiding of Germany (as Germany should have more income whilst the bombing cap is still 20). I believe you don’t need to use the interceptor rule as long as you are using NOs (though bombing raiding is of course still very strong with no interception).