In this expansion, the v3 rules mention that:
“2.1 Soviet-Japanese Border Clashes: The USSR and Manchukuo may take Northern Manchuria and Chita from one another during border clashes without being at war.”
My first question is do these battle still take place under the normal border clash rules, taken from Japan v3.4 or USSR v3.3 National Reference Sheets, namely “Either side may attack units on the other side of a jointly held land border in 1 round of combat but all units must start in an adjacent zone (aircraft may not be brought in from different zones)”?
The mention of border clashes in rule 2.1 above would suggest to me that these restrictions do apply, but it’s hard to wipeout any significant defence in a single round.
My second question is what happens to the USSR’s peacetime income if Japan takes Chita before the USSR is at wartime income? USSR stats at 8 IPP but controls much more territory value. Does it go down one IPP for the loss of Chita or is this loss compensated by the other territories that USSR still holds? I don’t believe that this is covered by the rules.
Lastly, what does “Like a Torpedo Boat Destroyed” mean under the stats for the River Patrol Boat on page 5. Is this a typo? Did they mean that RPBs have the same stats as Torpedo Boat Destroyers on can be represented by TBDs instead of the Patrol Boat blue marker?