Question pertains to the UK Taranto Raid on Italy. If I were to bring 2 fighters down from the UK to hit the Italian battleship, can I purposely choose to let my carrier take a hit knowing that both those fighters will die if I win the battle?
Yes. You have to show a plane has the ability to land during CM. But you are not required to have it land during NCM.
Using your example - you can use your 2 UK fighters for the attack, and leave your carrier in SZ98 during CM. You meet the requirement that the planes do have a possible landing spot - a carrier that moves to tue appropriate space during NCM. Then, after the battle, even if those fighters survived, you could send your carrier to SZ 76, and let those plane die.
But you could not move your carrier to SZ 76 during CM - as then you have failed the rule test - no possible landing spot in NCM is now possible.