@aardvarkpepper said in 1 fighter vs 1 AAA - what happens?:
I’m looking at a .pdf of ‘Axis & Allies Rulebook 1942 Second Edition’. The unit rules start on 24. I looked on page 24 but didn’t see anything relevant to AAA there. I found some rules on page 25. Could be we’re looking at different versions.
Yes, apparently the latest version of the Rulebook was not updated to the website.
I consider “is attacked” and “attacks” the same action. Instead of “is attacked” I could write “when a unit attacks the AAA”. Instead of “can fire only at an air unit when that unit attacks”, I could write “when a territory an AAA is in is attacked”. (If you disagree please let me know).
I agree. “Attack” is a term that is not precisely defined in the rules, but can be assumed through the context of its use to mean “make a combat move against a space, resulting in combat”. It is during this combat that units are eliminated, whether automatically or not.
If that IS correct - I don’t see any wording resolving the timing of the two effects. Nor do I see any blanket rule for automatic destruction that states it happens before or after.
Correct, there is no such blanket rule.
If the trigger is “attacks”, I’m okay with that happening before the first round of combat. The rule defines it that way, so why not. But I’m saying the automatic destruction also properly happens before the first round of combat.
Automatic destruction isn’t normal combat. It’s a separate effect.
That is incorrect. There are only two instances of automatic destruction of units in the game (three if you count naval units’ cargo being destroyed along with them) - transports and AAA. The former is explicitly defined as equivalent to combat in the “Defenseless Transports” sidebar. It would be logical to assume that the same applies to AAA, and in fact I know that it does.
I think I read said something about automatic destruction effects being implemented to save on needless rolling - maybe on the Larry Harris forum. I don’t have the reference handy. But even if that’s the INTENT of the rule - it’s intuitive, it makes sense - it’s not what the literal rules say.
OR is there some official text somewhere (rulebook or errata) that Iiterally states that automatic destruction effects are supposed to only save on needless dice rolling? If there is, would you happen to have a reference?
I went up and down the 2nd edition rulebook and the errata, found nothing official.
Both the “Defenseless Transports” sidebar and the FAQ mention prevention of unnecessary dice rolling as being the purpose of automatic destruction as regards to transports. Extending this concept to AAA is only logical.
The question is - what’s the OFFICIAL ruling? If it’s a matter of INTENT - that’s another matter.
The official ruling is that combat must be initiated with AAA and there must be a unit capable of hitting it during a combat round in order to destroy it. While there is no direct quote in the rules or FAQ that I can give you to support this ruling, it is obviously in line with the way automatic destruction of transports works. In addition, it makes logical sense from the perspective that AAA always fire in combat before attacking air units do, so they should get the chance to defend themselves, even if alone.
I concede that a little “reading between the lines” needs to be done to arrive at this ruling, but it does make logical sense within the context of the rules for combat, and it conforms to the procedure for automatic destruction of transports. To treat AAA differently than transports in this regard would be to create a rules exception that simply doesn’t make sense, from either a game play or “realism” perspective.