New to Global. HELP



  • Hello guys. I am not new to Axis and Allies, but I am about to play my first game of Global AA very soon. If I may, I have a few questions for people much smarter than me when it comes to the rules. Any help would be VERY MUCH appreciated.

    1-First, what is KGF?

    2-What happens if USA takes over factory in France, while Paris is occupied by Germany. Can USA use this factory, and do they get the income – IPC for that territory?

    3-It seems that OOB rules tend to favor Axis? You guys thinks so? What do you do to even the odds? I see some placing “bids”. What is this about?

    4-I know you must clear sea zones of warships before conducting an amphibious assault. My question is this, can transports continue with the assault after warships are cleared? You just do not get an offshore bombardment. Hypothetical situation. Germany has 10 transports, 1 Battleship, and 1 Destroyer in sea zone 110. On the UK turn, they buy a destroyer and place it in the same sea zone. Germany must clear this before proceeding correct? Then, are they (Germans) able to use the transports that are in the same sea zone that combat was just conducted to continue to land in UK?

    5-Would you guys still do Taranto if you think Germany is going go sealion?

    It’s a lot of questions, sorry guys. And thanks!

    Private Mike


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    @Private-Mike said in New to Global. HELP:

    Hello guys. I am not new to Axis and Allies, but I am about to play my first game of Global AA very soon. If I may, I have a few questions for people much smarter than me when it comes to the rules. Any help would be VERY MUCH appreciated.

    1-First, what is KGF?

    2-What happens if USA takes over factory in France, while Paris is occupied by Germany. Can USA use this factory, and do they get the income – IPC for that territory?

    3-It seems that OOB rules tend to favor Axis? You guys thinks so? What do you do to even the odds? I see some placing “bids”. What is this about?

    4-I know you must clear sea zones of warships before conducting an amphibious assault. My question is this, can transports continue with the assault after warships are cleared? You just do not get an offshore bombardment. Hypothetical situation. Germany has 10 transports, 1 Battleship, and 1 Destroyer in sea zone 110. On the UK turn, they buy a destroyer and place it in the same sea zone. Germany must clear this before proceeding correct? Then, are they (Germans) able to use the transports that are in the same sea zone that combat was just conducted to continue to land in UK?

    5-Would you guys still do Taranto if you think Germany is going go sealion?

    It’s a lot of questions, sorry guys. And thanks!

    Private Mike

    Good day. Global is a very complex game . Feel free to ask as many questions as you like.

    1. Kill Germany First strategy.
    2. If Paris is Axis occupied, then any French territories are fair game for the Allies . America can capture Normandy and, the turn afterwards, start using its IC.
    3. Most new players will soon seen that the Axis have the advantage.
      Bids of extra units to the Allies are the norm on these boards.
      They started at 12. Now most of us will give away 30 plus so as to play the Axis.
    4. You must clear a Sea Zone, befire amphibiously Lansing. Once clear, Transports can unload . You must factor in Scrambling, when landing amphibiously. If the defender sinks all escorting ships and any Air, the Transports would have to retreat or face elimination, with the units on board too.
    5. I favour Taranto . Especially, if you can get a Sub bid for SZ98. Without this Sub amd with 3 Fts that can scramble to the SZ, it is less than 50% odds. How luvky do you feel?
      I like neutering Italy from the get go.


  • @Witt I really appreciate your reply. But how exactly do you “bid”? Also what was the KGF?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    The Allies, with America’s 70 income, decide whether to go all out for Germany, by spending resources on that map or they decide to invest in defeating Japan quickly. America can’t really do both effectively.
    Some players swear by a Kill Germany First . But you must be wary of Japan becoming an 80 income monster in the meantime.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    One side says: I will take the Axis and you will can have the Allies with a bid of 20 . You are saying that your opponent can immediately place an extra 20 worth of Allied units on the board.

    The only rule we play, is that you can only place a unit at sea , if there is already one in that SZ or place a land unit , where there is already a land unit.
    Very few would allow Anzac to place a 3 point Infantry in New Guinea, for example.


  • Official Q&A

    @Private-Mike said in New to Global. HELP:

    Hello guys. I am not new to Axis and Allies, but I am about to play my first game of Global AA very soon. If I may, I have a few questions for people much smarter than me when it comes to the rules. Any help would be VERY MUCH appreciated.

    Welcome!

    4-I know you must clear sea zones of warships before conducting an amphibious assault. My question is this, can transports continue with the assault after warships are cleared? You just do not get an offshore bombardment. Hypothetical situation. Germany has 10 transports, 1 Battleship, and 1 Destroyer in sea zone 110. On the UK turn, they buy a destroyer and place it in the same sea zone. Germany must clear this before proceeding correct? Then, are they (Germans) able to use the transports that are in the same sea zone that combat was just conducted to continue to land in UK?

    Unless you have just declared war, you cannot load transports in a hostile sea zone. Also, transports must be loaded for an amphibious assault during the Combat Movement phase (before any combat begins), unless they were loaded on a previous turn. Thus, in this situation, Germany would not be able to conduct an amphibious assault unless either the transports were already loaded or they move to another sea zone, load there, and come back.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    @Krieghund @Private-Mike sorry ! I didn’t read the question thoroughly . I presumed (silly!) the Transports were coming from the safe Baltic.


  • 2020

    @Private-Mike
    Fancy a game by forum?
    Played a lot of classic, but only in my first real game of global40. but been lurking a bit, so i have a good understanding of the rules. So making a mistake with me wont be as catastrophic as against, say @wizmark . He’s about to make the allies eat marinara covered schnitzel with chop sticks.
    You might also be interested some tutorials on you tube by young grasshopper and general hand grenade - they both cover a lot, with some good visuals to help.



  • @Witt got it. Thanks again for the information. Helps a lot. The guys Im playing with think I am just trying to get an advantage with the bid. I have been telling them the Axis are too powerful from the start and have an advantage.



  • @mainah hey thanks. I have been watching those guys. way above my skill level. I would love to play sometime, but cant at this time. I need to get online and go from there. thanks for the help



  • @Krieghund Thank you. So if he loads 10 transports in sea zone 110 for sealion and has 1 battleship also, I could scramble from London with say 3 planes. If I scramble, and he does not designate any of germans planes to participate in the seazone battle, I could sink his battleship and the transport are gone with the men. Correct?



  • @Witt Ready for another question? After he does sealion and has his 10 transports in seazone 110, can I attack them with say 5 Strat bombers from US? I know I can attack, the question I guess is what if he only has subs with the transports to defend? I cant attack without a destroyer (which i will not have). I can land the bombers in eire after UK takes that in round 1.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    @Private-Mike the Subs can’t protect the Transports. One US Bomber could sink all the defending German Transports, if it can reach Eire to land .


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @Private-Mike said in New to Global. HELP:

    I cant attack without a destroyer

    You don’t need a destroyer to attack. You just can’t hit the submarines without a destroyer friendly to the planes.


  • 2020

    @Private-Mike said in New to Global. HELP:

    @Krieghund Thank you. So if he loads 10 transports in sea zone 110 for sealion and has 1 battleship also, I could scramble from London with say 3 planes. If I scramble, and he does not designate any of germans planes to participate in the seazone battle, I could sink his battleship and the transport are gone with the men. Correct?

    Yes, but to clarify - you said If I scramble, and he does not designate any german planes. He has to declare all combat movement before you declare scrambling - so he has should have already declared planes (or not) for his attack in a SZ, and you decide then whether or not to scramble.



  • @mainah He is new to this version also. Especially scrambling. I am willing to bet he will forget to designate planes for the seazone. He will be too eager to attack london with everything. thanks



  • @Witt guess it will be a mistake for him to do sealion without a substantial surface warship present then huh. thanks



  • @Panther thank you. first game going down this weekend. game is immense


  • Official Q&A

    @Private-Mike said in New to Global. HELP:

    @Krieghund Thank you. So if he loads 10 transports in sea zone 110 for sealion and has 1 battleship also, I could scramble from London with say 3 planes. If I scramble, and he does not designate any of germans planes to participate in the seazone battle, I could sink his battleship and the transport are gone with the men. Correct?

    Attacking transports are only defenseless if they cannot retreat. If he attacks directly from sea zone 110, they will not be able to retreat, and what you say will be true.

    However, if in combat movement he loads the transports, moves them to an adjacent sea zone (say, 112), and then moves them back to 110, he will have established a retreat route in that zone. As a result, he could retreat any surviving transports from the battle once the battleship is sunk. For example, if you roll two hits and sink the battleship, all of the transports could retreat. However, if you roll three hits, the battleship and one transport would be lost before the others could retreat.



  • @Krieghund excellent explanation. I really appreciate it. I have explained to them that it seems allies have a big disadvantage from the start and a lot of guys play with a bid for the allies up front. I suggested 50 and they laughed. They dont want to do a bid at all. Im thinking of holding my ground. I wanna play, but if they dont accept a bid of at least 30 Im thinking the allies are doomed from the start. What do you thinK? Thank you


  • Official Q&A

    With new players, a lot will depend on style of play and getting used to the rules. There’s nothing wrong with playing without a bid at first, as many of the strategies that make a bid necessary are discovered only after many hours of play. Depending on your group and how much they get strategies from the outside, you may actually find that a small bid or none at all will suit you, at least in the short run.



  • @Krieghund thanks again. Pretty sure they are going J4 and sealion. Hold on!


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 5
  • 2
  • 6
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 41
  • 1
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

76
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts