Its a great ruleset and some pretty nice miniatures. It ran for 7 years and went through 10 expansions before going out of production. There is still lots of the AAM stuff on eBay and etc
As you can see nobody here is interested discussing the miniature game. Join this forum and find out anything you want to know about the miniatures game https://forumini.boards.net/
We also have a really cool Army Builder and search engine for the game here, http://www.aamcardbase.com/search_AAM.aspx
He means that the US Hero can keep using the destroyed tank’s attack values turn after turn, until he leaves the hex.
The tank is destroyed and can be removed from play (though I suppose you can get cute and lay it on it’s side with the US Hero on top just for the visual effect and as a reminder what vehicle stats to use :-D)
I’m thinking they are opening pandoras box.
Yes, you used to be able to bump an isolated infantry every now and then, but it was easy to fugure out.
If you wait until the end of the turn it will a nightmare to manage.
As you said, you move 2 Inf into a hax that already conatins two inf. The two original Inf now try charge forward in an MG and get disrupted so they cannot move. But its the end of the turn and you’ve moved a dozen units. Now what, you have to “unmove” the first two Inf that you moved to fix the overstack, hoping you remember which hexes they came from?
It gets insanely worse with vehicles.
No, that will break the game. They’ve done some odd things in the past, but this will break the game.
I have to beileve that the rule will be different than we are guessing. Something like, any unit that is overstacked cannot Attack. So you can overstack all you want, but if you dont resolve it by the end of the turn then that unit is pretty much a hood ornament. Or something equally different.
Thanks for the heads up, we’ll all have to keep our eyes peeled.
Well, its more an agregate of knowledge from all of the various questions asked and answered. Here’s some official tidbits that relate.
Stacking While Moving: The stacking limit applies only at the end of each player’s half of the movement and assault phase, after all movement and unit placement are finished. Moving units can temporarily exceed the stacking limit during the phase, provided each hex is within the limit at the end of the player’s portion of the phase. If a hex exceeds the stacking limit at the end of a phase, units must be moved back to their previously-occupied hex until the overstack is corrected. These moves are done in reverse order – that is, the last unit in must be the first one backed out, and so on.
Re: Overstack and no retreat
There is only one legal retreat hex for any given overstacked unit – the one that it came from when it entered the now-overstacked hex. The last unit in the overstacked hex must back up to its previous hex.
If that causes another overstack, then it sets off a daisy chain of unstacking. The last unit in is the first one out.
you must be some kind of genius.
all i can add is Avalon Hill is run by fantasy game idiots who spend all their time playing D&D when they were young and latched on to AH because they figured: “gee i can remain an idiot, get paid, and support a company based on other idiots besides myself”
WOTC has no idea what their targeted audience is because they wont accept that its still primarily wargamers who were with them back in the day, but they view everything through a constant reminder of being the company with the next “Magic: the gathering” cash cow because they desperately want to be a caterer to those young misfits with plenty of money from mommy. They should stick to grinding it out making legitimate games. When they have an idea its usually get in some hot designer, rub him down, and hope he can pull out a winner for the team.
Its almost like how Al Davis of the Raiders always gets these washed up guys who were great 5 years ago, and think all you do is take a chance on them only to get junked with another defeat. Its a cheap way to sell tickets, but does little to provide a constant steady cash flow and rather the sales go up and down like an elevator. AH want to do business by peaks and valleys and thats why they alienate people like you and me and don’t care.
here is a rules questionm
I just played a few games with gamer, and these situations came up a few times.
When does the movement occur during the assault phase?
At one point does a unit need to be able to spot for a mortar?
Heres a situation. I have the initiative. If I move a soldier during the movement phase into LOS within 4 hexes of a unit (spotting for my mortar). During the assault phase (I go first with initiative) I attack that enemy unit with my mortar (spotting with my soldier). My soldier doesnt shoot, and instead moves during assault phase, out of LOS, and thus can not be retaliated against. Is this legal?
An inverse situation is this. I DONT have the initiative and go second. My opponent has already done his attacks. During my ASSAULT phase, I move my soldier into LOS and within 4 hexes of an enemy. Can I then use that spot for my mortar?
Basically, when and for how long does the spot have to occur?
1. You resolve move/attacks for one unit at a time.
2&3. I assume you are refreing to the mortar w/ the “Improved Indirect Fire” so any unit can spot? The special ability (having another unit within 4 hexes) must be satisfied when the Mortar’s assualt is resolved. It doesn’t matter if the soldier moved before or after that.