Amphibious assault - what if no attacking land units survive



  • Hello, we are playing A&A 1942 2nd edition for the first time. So we are utter noobs. We did our best reading and analysing the rule book though, but still… 🙂

    During our game, Germany did an amphibious assault and attacked London. All attacking German land units that entered London from a transport ship got shot, but Germany won the assault (a lot of attacking planes destroyed all defending troops). So the situation is that London lost all of its defending troops (land and air units), but since Germany lost all its land units during combat and no attacking planes can land in London there are no German troops in London as well.

    We have a few questions:

    1. Is it correct to assume that Germany has conquered London since it won the battle, even though no attacking land units that offloaded into London survived the assault?
    2. If so, Germany can take all of UK “unspent” IPCs?
    3. Unspent IPCs = all IPCs that the UK has (so all the “money” that UK has, including all IPC that the UK got in the last step during the last time it was UKs turn)?
    4. Can an enemy air unit alone conquer London in this situation? In other words: can air units conquer empty enemy territories without land troops supporting them? Can they attack them even if there are no units to attack? If so, is it just a matter of steps being able to take (e.g. 2 steps for a fighter to fly to London en 2 steps to land in a friendly zone)?

    We would be really grafetul to get an answer. Thanks in advance!



  • @marcus711
    Greetings.
    The attacking force must have a ground unit present to take possession of the territory.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017

    @marcus711 If no attacking ground unit survives combat, the attacked territory does not fall. Therefore, the rest of your questions are moot.

    It is for this reason that how-to guides for A&A will tell you that once you are down to your last land unit, you will need to decide how badly you want this territory you are attacking. Because you will need to start losing your air units if you want to take that territory - you will need to save your last ground unit to actually take it over.

    My 2 IPCs,

    -Midnight_Reaper


  • 2017 '16 '15 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    Only land units can take an area. Just lose planes! it pays off every way. Leave one land unit to take.



  • Thank you all for your answers. That makes it clear: only land units can actually conquer enemy territories.

    So then it is possible to attack land units in enemy territory with only air force just to destroy the enemy troops but without actually conquering the territory?


  • 2017 '16 '15 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    right. you are correct


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017

    @marcus711 The hang up with that is that all hits must be accounted for. If you attack with 4 fighters against a defending stack of 6 infantry, you will (statistically) land 2 hits (3/6 x 4 = 2), killing 2 of the 6 infantry. And then the 6 infantry get their defending rolls (statistically) getting 2 hits as well (2/6 x 6 = 2), killing 2 fighters. You would trade 6 enemy IPCs (infantry cost x 2) for 20 of your IPCs (fighter cost of 10 IPCs x 2). I wouldn’t call that a good trade.

    -Midnight_Reaper


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

51
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts