• Hey everyone, I have a question about airplanes movement. When using airplanes for combat, ALL AIRPLANES must have a valid landing area. Is that correct? A valid landing area includes aircraft carrier. So if a player were to send some planes in a naval battle, you cannot send more planes than your AC capacity (if no other landing area).

    EG : Player X attacks a fleet. He possess no island or friendly territory and only two aircraft carriers can move into the area for planes to land. Because of that, the maximum of airplanes (Fighter or Tac) is limited to 4. Is that correct?

    I found the following rules :

    • An air unit that moves in the Combat Move phase must generally reserve part of its move value for the Noncombat Move phase, at which point it must return to a safe landing spot using its remaining movement.

    • list itemAn air unit’s movement in any complete turn is limited to its total move value. Thus, a strategic bomber with a move value of 6 can’t move 6 spaces to get to a hostile space. It must save enough movement points to get to a friendly territory where it can land. A fighter or tactical bomber can move its full 4 spaces to attack in a sea zone instead of saving movement, but only if a carrier could be there for it to land on by the conclusion of the Mobilize New Units phase.

    So if my understanding is correct, you cannot send more planes than valid landing zone, and that includes aircraft carriers. This rule is only checked BEFORE the resolution of combat. So an Aircraft carrier could be sunk, but the combat move would still remain valid because it was valid at the time of the player declared its moves.

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2023 '22 '21 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @Robert Your understanding is correct. During Combat Move Phase for the purpose of pointing out that your planes will have a valid landing space you are even allowed to assume that all your shots will be hits and all your opponents shots will be misses.


  • Thank you!


  • @panther

    So a follow up question on this topic that we have debated in our games.

    If you have a carrier carrying two fighters along with two fighters on land, in range of your sea zone battle, can the two fighters from your carrier land safely elsewhere(non-combat movement) while the two fighters from land end up on the carrier? A Swaperoo if you will. Is that legal?

  • 2023 '22 '21 '20

    @zbox said in Quick question about airplanes:

    @panther

    So a follow up question on this topic that we have debated in our games.

    If you have a carrier carrying two fighters along with two fighters on land, in range of your sea zone battle, can the two fighters from your carrier land safely elsewhere(non-combat movement) while the two fighters from land end up on the carrier? A Swaperoo if you will. Is that legal?

    Yes


  • @andrewaagamer said in Quick question about airplanes:

    @zbox said in Quick question about airplanes:

    @panther

    So a follow up question on this topic that we have debated in our games.

    If you have a carrier carrying two fighters along with two fighters on land, in range of your sea zone battle, can the two fighters from your carrier land safely elsewhere(non-combat movement) while the two fighters from land end up on the carrier? A Swaperoo if you will. Is that legal?

    Yes

    Swapping fighters is a key battle tactic for success. So is utilizing additional carriers, as you can move a carrier 2-3 spaces away to pick up those fighters (but in truth intend not to do so because the fighters will be the first losses).

    This gets more airforce in a battle than you otherwise would be allowed. As an example, you could do the Taranto raid, not bring in the carrier, take the london fighter as a loss, and then move the carrier through the canal.

Suggested Topics

  • 11
  • 2
  • 2
  • 21
  • 3
  • 15
  • 13
  • 4
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

54
Online

16.4k
Users

38.2k
Topics

1.6m
Posts