Couple clarification questions here. As last time I played, there are a few rules I’ve maybe made assumptions on, that I’m now not seeing definitive proof of in the rule book (or I’m just missing it). Some things seem obvious to me, but my brother is assuming things differently (which I think is largely colored by how these rules would affect him in our current game haha).
- When the UK goes to war, do both the FEC and ANZAC also automatically go to war? I’ve always assumed this is a yes, as they are part of the Commonwealth, and, as the rules say, the FEC isn’t technically a separate country yet.
The situation is that Germany attacked Denmark and Belgium. This triggered the 2D12 die rolls for the UK and France (x2, since two nations were attacked). This put the UK at their 24 IPP wartime income, and making them eligible to declare war on Germany, which they did (along with France).
Because they UK is now at war, would the FEC and ANZAC also be considered at war with Germany, and their IPP’s raised to wartime levels?
My answer to this, as I stated above, is yes. My brother to his mind thinks no. I believe he’s wrong, but I’m struggling to find a concrete reading of that in the rules. This seems answered to me at page 12 of the rule book:
“Great Britain determines when the Commonwealth goes to war. The British player may overrule the FEC and ANZAC players if they wish to declare war before Britain is ready.”
But again, just wanted to clarify here.
- Cities. When a city is surrounded, and a subsequent attack takes place, I’ve always interpreted the rule to be that infantry have their normal defense of 4 in the city. Cities typically give a +1 defense, but give a -1 when surrounded. I’ve always thought that meant the bonus and negative just cancel each other out, thus making infantry the standard 4 on defense at that point. Is that correct?
Spanish Civil War was happening. Nationalists surrounded Madrid. When the attack happened, my brother again wondered aloud if the -1 meant that the infantry should only defend at 3. His thinking was that the city being surrounded negative effect negated the +1 defense already BEFORE one would apply the -1 to the defense. I don’t think that is right, but again, I’m not seeing a definitive in the rule book. Thoughts?
- Technology. The rule book states that “No technology can be researched prior to July 1939.” Does this mean that no tech rolls can even be attempted before that turn? Or does it just mean that you can’t “activate”, if you will, the affects of the tech if one were to successfully research it until that time?
Not going to lie, the first few times we played the game, tech was largely overlooked by everyone. I think it was just forgotten about constantly. This has changed dramatically this game so far, as everyone is rolling for tech. But it dawned on me that I could interpret the rule two ways. This happened because the Germans have successfully researched Jet Aircraft, and it’s only January 1939. It’s obviously just a a game, but it seemed odd to me that the Germans can now start pumping jet fighters out in July 1939 when that didn’t historically happen.
My gut told me that you couldn’t even be allowed to attempt tech rolls until July 1939. But my brother wondered differently, again. Plus we’d already rolled for multiple turns by that point, and figured it was too much to stop now. Thoughts on that one?
Thanks as always.