China receives special treatment in the Chicago Rules Anniversary Edition. China begins the game with an IC and has different rules while China controls the IC and different rules after the axis take control of and destroy the Chinese IC.
China and its units are controlled by the U.S. player, but for game purposes it is considered a separate power and its resources cannot be mixed. Chinese combat and movement are done separately from the U.S. forces.
Chinese units have a limited range of occupation, displayed by the colored border. They can also be moved into the Japanese occupied territories of Kiangsu and Manchuria. China can take control of these territories and have them count toward their new infantry placements. Chinese units cannot be loaded onto transports.
Kwangtung is a special case. While it is not a Chinese territory and cannot be controlled by China, Chinese forces can attack Axis units there and occupy it, but the IPC’s generated, go to the United Kingdom. This is the only non-Chinese territory that Chinese units may occupy.
Before the start of game play China places their IC in any Chinese controlled territory. The IC works like the mobile industry National Advantage (for Revised edition): the IC can move one territory per turn and place units there (no unit limits on placement of Chinese units). Since, the IC has unlimited production it is not subject to axis strategic bombing.
Before the start of game play China may also move their fighter to any Chinese controlled territory. The fighter represents the American volunteer group- the Flying Tigers. This fighter is considered part of the Chinese forces for purposes of movement and combat.
While the IC is in play, China collects income at the end of a turn just like any other country. China starts the game with $7 IPC’s. China may purchase infantry for $2, other unit costs are unchanged. China can save unspent IPC’s and spend IPC’s on technology research if the optional rule is agreed upon.
After the Chinese IC has been captured The Axis power that takes control of the Chinese IC must destroy it immediately. The Chinese player must also surrender all of their IPC’s to that Axis power. China no longer receives IPC’s for income and can no longer purchase units. China may never rebuild this IC.
Instead, China gets one new infantry unit per turn for every two Chinese territories that are not under Axis control during the Purchase Units phase of the U.S. player’s turn. The U.S. Player places the new Chinese units on any Chinese- controlled territories. However, those units cannot be placed on any territory that already contains three or more units.
Excuse my old eyes. 😉