Subs on Defense

  • 2020 2019 2018 2017

    Another clarification here that I had yet to come across. My German fleet attacked a Russian fleet. No planes were involved, and Russia had, I believe, 3 subs.

    Rules state that subs can only be seen by planes in this game (unlike in A&A where it’s destroyers). Because I had no planes present, the rules read to me that the Russian subs could not partake in the battle.

    Is this accurate?

    A follow up, what if the Russian player wanted his subs in the fight? Is he just SOL there, and they have to submerge? Or does he somehow get the option to choose to have them defend if he wanted?

    Thanks again!


  • 2018 2017 '16

    The lack of planes on CAP means that he has the option whether to enter the fight with his subs or to submerge with them. He could also take part and then submerge after any round of combat instead of rolling for the subs.

  • 2020 2019 2018 2017

    Thanks GHG! Good to know I was wrong there. I took it to mean that they weren’t eligible, but that did seem unfair to the defending player.

  • This post is deleted!

Log in to reply

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 5
  • 4
  • 2
  • 3
  • 8
  • 12
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys