@JuliusBorisovBeamdog said in Getting your IPCs back if you don't deploy:
@djensen What I did was to buy 2 ACs in Karelia so that 4 my fighters from Germany could get there after attacking the SZ next to Norway. However, during the combat, all 4 fighters were destroyed, this is why I didn’t buy the ACs.
Also, please take into account that the yesterday patch addressed the ACs/fighters situation and implemented the rule from the tabletop game.
What is the issue with subs?
Which issue with subs? Of the stuff I’ve reported that I remember offhand there’s not being able to ignore subs, subs not being able to submerge in one part of the board but not another as defensive profiles can’t be switched out by territory, subs being stuck in sea zones if enemy subs present, inability to move subs into appropriate sea zones to control lines of retreat.
OF course it might be an entirely different issue. And of the above, possibly the third may have been fixed (or not, I don’t know as I haven’t tested it recently).
@djensen - Needing to deploy all units or losing them with no IPC refund isn’t quite how it works in 1942. If you purchase more units than you can place due to production limitations, excess units that cannot be placed can be refunded. So you could legitimately pull off that carrier non-placement thing under certain conditions - say Germany had 59 IPC, controlled ICs on Karelia, Germany, and Italy, bought 15 infantry and 1 carrier, then it wouldn’t be able to place one of the units and would get a refund per 1942 version board game rules. But the current 1942 Online implementation just gives a flat refund and allows players to not place purchased units, which isn’t correct and which can be exploited as mentioned.
@DoManMacgee - The “floating fighter” when defending carrier destroyed was not an “exploit” as such, rather it was one of the planned changes that was deliberately introduced to the game with 1942 Online. I suppose they decided to implement changing it to work in the same way as the board game, though, which I think is to the good.