Thanks again for the reply. I might not be being clear! I definitely understand all the rules you’re laying out above. That’s not really the issue I was having. I suppose it’s morphed into an issue of clarity in the rulebooks at this point. And I’m with you, I hate harping on that subject so much, but it’s always been the largest and most glaring issue.
I guess my original question, after you answered whether Italy got 10 IPP or 7 IPP, based on the scenario above, was what their income level would be after turn one. That I was unclear on, and is now made clear!
But what am MAYBE now missing is how Italy could ever possible declare war on a major power, unless there should be a caveat to the rules, or I’m missing something.
The rules pretty plainly say you need to be at your wartime economy to be able to declare war on a major power. It’s literally impossible for Italy to reach said wartime income then UNTIL they’ve declared war on a major power. That is what I suppose I hadn’t understood before, that Italy has the capacity to declare war on a major power without being at their wartime economy.
Slight FYI, Sleeping Bear rule doesn’t allow USSR to declare war in 1939, it just allows them to start rolling a D12 each turn to begin getting closer to their wartime economy, regardless of anything the Axis have or have not done.
Same with the Greece example, that wouldn’t just allow the Allies to declare war on Italy. It’s POSSIBLE they could, but that is if their 2D12 die roll for Italy attacking a minor power got them enough IPP to reach their wartime economy. Regardless, the general point of not much advantage gained is received.
Now this is something I wasn’t aware of at all, and would love your clarification. So you’re saying no Axis powers can accrue any money other than what is stated as their wartime economy (or in Italy’s case just the 7 IPP) until they are at war with a major power, despite how many minors they may take? As in, Germany 20 IPP, Japan 16 IPP, and Italy 7 IPP, and that’s it?
To expound, if Germany annexes Austria, Sudentenland, and Slovakia, one each the first three turns of the game, they do not get to gain control of and use those new IPP’s until at war with a major? Even further, let’s say the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact is in play, and they get the Polish territories, they wouldn’t be able to accrue anything more than the 20 IPP?
Also, as you state above, same goes for Japan? If they go to war with China, but are not at war with another major, they don’t get to accrue/use any of the IPP’s from Chinese territory? It’s just 16 IPP until at war with a major?
That seems a little shocking to me. I just scoured the rulebook as well, and I don’t see that mentioned anywhere. I’m curious how it is you decided that was the case? Genuinely would love to know, as that isn’t something I’ve ever considered to be interpreted from my readings of the rulebook!