If you read this thread you’d fine that the short version of my verdict on the game was:
So you’re in good company here. Most of the haters are over on the G40 board.
So there were some issues with battleships performing background fire.
See original topic:
And listed in AAZ Rules FAQ topic:
Now my question.
Does this background fire shot hit Zs when a six is rolled?
My guess is: yes.
If this has been covered before. Or I missed the rule in the manual. Sorry and please include a link.
Yes, it does.
@Krieghund , thanks for answering this one.
Is there an instance of a unit rolling a die in combat while any die roll of six will NOT be applied?
Both in AAZ and AAZ 1942?
AAA is the only case.
AAA is the only case.
Wow. Hadn’t thought about that. But yes, if a rule says ‘units’ does this include stuff like factories, AA guns…
Thought about this when going through the rules for empty territories and so… but I must admit I hadn’t thought about this one.
So no, AA die rolls of 6 do not hit Zs…
It’s not about whether AAA are units (which they are), but about when they fire. The rules indicate that 6s hit zombies during the Attacking Units Fire and Defending Units Fire steps, but AAA fires before the first round of combat.
Battleships, on the other hand, bombard during the Attacking Units Fire step (at least in this game). While they do fire before combat in AA42, the principle that they can hit zombies should still be applied there for consistency.
If this issue is settled by the rules as you indicate then I think Z-hitting battleships should be explicitely mentioned. As this is a ‘special case’ then.
I also think this is all is thematically very right: battleships fire on the area being invaded. So yes, they can hit some Zs…
AA guns only fire at planes. So not on Zs. Rather straightforward of course…
Talking about AA Guns…
If one plays AAZ1942 can a hit by a Z during the ‘Z attack’ phase (so not regular combat) be applied to an AA gun to ‘satisfy’ this hit?
So if there are two Zs and I got say 2 infantry and one AA gun… Both Zs score a hit. Can I then remove an infantry and that AA gun instead of two infantry units?
Yes, you can.