UK fighter attacking German transports?


  • 2019

    New to A&A!!

    Playing with my 11 year old son; I buy two German transports after round 1 and place them in Sea Zone 5; when its UK turn, he tries to “autokill” the transports with fighter from UK… is that legal? he says its an air raid and that there is no air scrambling in Anniversary Edition…

    I must be missing something: either I can scramble fighters from Germany which would deter this “air raid” or UK has to have some sea battle with ships and use fighters as support…otherwise UK just knocks out German naval purchases on next turn


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @rookeries Welcome to the forum 🙂

    Moving the UK plane to SZ 5 to attack the German transports there indeed is a valid combat move. The battle will be resolved according to the “defenseless transports”-rules on page 19 of the rulebook, sometimes referred to as “autodestruction”.

    Scramble is not part of the ruleset here (you might mix that up with the rules for Global 1940).
    Also there is nothing in the rules saying that planes must be accompanied by attacking ships.
    So never leave your transports unprotected 😄


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 13
  • 2
  • 16
  • 13
  • 2
  • 13
  • 4
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

49
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts