Wait… they have TWO dice for technologies? That’s something I’d hoped for.
AA50 : Retreat From Enemy Transport
You guys should just write this: … So Sayeth The Shepard …
If you don’t see your logic error, then you don’t see it
Let me be clear. What I have posted regarding this rule is not my interpretation, nor my opinion. It is the intent of the designer, of which I am definitely sure. This is neither a mistake nor an oversight.
As I have said, there is definitely room for argument over what the rule should be, including whether or not this rule is consistent with other rules. There may even be room for argument over whether or not the Rulebook clearly states the rule (though at this point I’m not convinced there is). However, there is none regarding what the rule is.
Heading back up to your logic up above–its not “units that can (in some situations) retreat”. It is units in this situation that can retreat (attacking tts yes defending ones no). That rule is written as it is to cover the situations where submerged subs, unhittable units (subs vs planes) or amphibious assaults where some units can retreat and others cant.
As a lawyer–I get what you’re trying to do and say that the rule doesn’t say what its supposed to say. As Krieg points out, that’s up for debate. Many lawsuits are about this kind of thing.
But that’s not because its dogma Canon law its because the other outcome is insensible, contradictory, gamey, requires a tortured reading of the language devised over multiple editions and revisons of the game to try and cover so many different situations.
there is no such thing as a perfect document try to write one