AAZ Rule Question: getting the 1 infantry bonus


  • This is a question regaring receiving the 1 infantry bonus for liberating a Z-held territory.

    This is how we interpreted this rule:

    If you cleared a territory of ALL Zs then you receive a free infantry on that specific territory.

    Now, it seems we interpretated this rule wrong. See: https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/topic/32350/axis-allies-and-zombies-q-a

    Is it really the case that:

    You can attack a Z-held territory. Have one round of combat (of course the Z will first ‘attack’ and you must remove a casualty immediatelly). Then after that call off the attack and - presuming you got one surving land unit - liberate/conquer the territory and gain that additional free infantry while there are still Zs present in this very area. ?


  • Page 4 of the AAZ rulebook says that you only need to survive one round of zombie combat to recapture a zombie-controlled territory, and that upon recapture of the territory you receive one infantry. So yes it really is the case than you can liberate/conquer the territory and gain that additional free infantry while there are still Zs present in this very area.


  • Thanks for reply, 655321.

    Personally I think it is way to easy to get that one infantry bonus then.

    Just imagine there is an area controlled by one Z.
    You enter with just two infantry. The Z rolls first during combat. Only 1/3 chance it will hit you. Then you can stop after that. Regardless of you hit the Z or not.
    And… voila… get an infantry unit as a bonus. Of course, I know… the next turn this Z attacks you on a 1 out of six. So even if this one Z will hit you next turn… You can ‘sacrifice’ that additional infantry for that.
    OK, maybe I do miss something but is this not just to easy?


  • I’ve found that if I take a territory and end combat while leaving a couple zombies in it, then the zombies tend to whittle down the remaining forces in subsequent turns during the zombie attack phase. So I usually go for the complete zombie wipe-out when I’m doing combat.


  • A related question:

    Desperate Measures Card: Hidden Supply Cache:

    You get additional unit if you ‘liberate a Z controlled territory’.

    Again: also here surviving one round of combat is enough? You still get this one infantry bonus + additional unit bonus even if there are still Zs in that territory?

    Also: just destroying all Zs in a territory you or your ally already control is not enough I guess? As the card specificly says: ‘liberate a Z controlled territory’?

  • 2020 '19 '18

    I think “Liberate” is referring to the game term where a country reclaims the territory of an ally from an enemy power (and removing their Control Marker).

    i.e. At the start of the game, Germany “owns” West Russia. When USSR takes West Russia R1, they’re “taking control” of the territory (putting a Soviet Control Marker on the territory).

    If Germany counterattacks and takes West Russia on G1, they’re “liberating” the territory (removing the Soviet Control Marker from the territory).

    So, by similar logic, when Zombies are the only units left in a territory, they “Take Control” of the territory (put a Zombie Control Marker on the territory). Then, later on, when your forces survive combat against the Zombies, you “Liberate” the territory from the Zombies (remove the Zombie Control Marker from the territory).

    I imagine that, in the case where your troops are removing Zombies from a territory originally owned by an enemy, you “liberate” the territory from the Zombies before “taking control” of it yourself.

    Example:

    • West Russia is naturally a German Territory.

    • Zombies take control of West Russia by some means. Zombies “Take Control” of the territory by placing the Zombie Control Marker on it.

    • On Russia’s turn, the Soviets move a stack into West Russia. They easily survive the Zombies.

    • At this moment, the Zombie Control Marker is removed from West Russia. Thus, the Soviets have “liberated the Z controlled territory”, and receive any and all applicable bonuses.

    • After the “liberation” of West Russia from the Zombies by the Soviets, the Russians “attack” the German Territory “West Russia”.

    • As Germany has no units present in West Russia, the Soviets win without a fight, and “Take Control” of the territory by placing the Russian Control Marker.

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    As a historical footnote, Allied troops in Normany in the summer of 1944 got to enjoy quite a bit of “liberated cognac” as they advanced.

  • Official Q&A

    @thrasher1 said in AAZ Rule Question: getting the 1 infantry bonus:

    A related question:

    Desperate Measures Card: Hidden Supply Cache:

    You get additional unit if you ‘liberate a Z controlled territory’.

    Again: also here surviving one round of combat is enough? You still get this one infantry bonus + additional unit bonus even if there are still Zs in that territory?

    Yes.

    Also: just destroying all Zs in a territory you or your ally already control is not enough I guess? As the card specificly says: ‘liberate a Z controlled territory’?

    Correct.

  • Official Q&A

    @DoManMacgee said in AAZ Rule Question: getting the 1 infantry bonus:

    I think “Liberate” is referring to the game term where a country reclaims the territory of an ally from an enemy power (and removing their Control Marker).

    Yes, that’s true, but I believe that the intent of the card is that you get the extra unit whether you liberate or capture the territory, as this is how the bonus infantry rule is written. I have submitted this for the FAQ, but for now I’d just play it as written.


  • Krieghund, thanks for the answers (as always).

    Can we just summarize this issue by saying:

    You get the 1 infantry bonus if you remove the Z control marker?

    So if a unit is not Z-controlled but has Zs in it… and even if you destroy them all: still no bonus.


  • On the rule itself: we interpreted this rule wrongly. At this moment two things spring into my mind:

    (1) It seems to me getting this bonus (especially when combined with the Hidden Supply Cache card) is too easy. But please elaborate on this, Kriegshund.

    (2) It seems a bit strange to me, even a bit ‘unfair’, that you do not get this one infantry bonus when totally clearing an area of Zs if this area was not Z-controlled. This seems a harder task then just surviving one round of combat.

  • Official Q&A

    @thrasher1 said in AAZ Rule Question: getting the 1 infantry bonus:

    Krieghund, thanks for the answers (as always).

    Can we just summarize this issue by saying:

    You get the 1 infantry bonus if you remove the Z control marker?

    So if a unit is not Z-controlled but has Zs in it… and even if you destroy them all: still no bonus.

    Correct.

  • Official Q&A

    @thrasher1 said in AAZ Rule Question: getting the 1 infantry bonus:

    On the rule itself: we interpreted this rule wrongly. At this moment two things spring into my mind:

    (1) It seems to me getting this bonus (especially when combined with the Hidden Supply Cache card) is too easy. But please elaborate on this, Kriegshund.

    (2) It seems a bit strange to me, even a bit ‘unfair’, that you do not get this one infantry bonus when totally clearing an area of Zs if this area was not Z-controlled. This seems a harder task then just surviving one round of combat.

    This rule is intended to be more about theme than it is a bonus. Think of it as providing a safe place in the territory for survivors to gather.

  • 2020 '19 '18

    @Krieghund
    That’s how I ultimately ended up reading it too, just in more complicated terms (i.e. when taking a territory that is hostile at the start of the game from zombies, you “liberate” it from the Zombies before “capturing” it for youself).

    Thanks for putting it in simpler terms, though.


  • @Krieghund said in AAZ Rule Question: getting the 1 infantry bonus:

    This rule is intended to be more about theme than it is a bonus. Think of it as providing a safe place in the territory for survivors to gather.

    Yes, I thought about this in a ‘thematic way’. And I liked that. Games like Axis and Allies (and Fortress America for sure!) are also a lot about the ‘atmoshpere’/feel.
    Then again: I interpreted this issue as: if you have removed all Zs then the survivors will resurface and form a militia to support you: that one bonus infantry.


  • @thrasher1 Page 23 of the rulebook, Liberating Zombie Controlled Territories.


  • @smo63 said in AAZ Rule Question: getting the 1 infantry bonus:

    @thrasher1 Page 23 of the rulebook, Liberating Zombie Controlled Territories.

    SMO, I interpreted this rule wrongly. For me personally getting the 1 infantry bonus only when getting rid of all Zs in an area made more sense.
    But to you and others: thanks for clarifying issues like these. Let’s hope there is an official FAQ soon. You are probably one of the persons who will compile this FAQ 🙂

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

52
Online

15.1k
Users

35.9k
Topics

1.5m
Posts