Back to the flying tiger landing in Burma…… just think of it as an American volonteer group (not a Chinese air force) then allowing it to land in British controlled Burma even before UK/US is at war w/Japan makes more sense. The US sent these planes to the port of Rangoon in Burma with American “volunteer” pilots to basically side step neutrality in 1941 (although the game starts w/tiger in 1940, and its in China). This group was based in Burma before Pearl Harbor and did most of its training there. The flying tigers first action took place shortly after Pearl, and their objective at the time was to defend the Burma Road and keep the the supply line open. The tigers were based at both ends of the Burma Road in Rangoon Burma, and Kunming China (northern end of the Burma road). The Tigers weren’t fully relocated to China until after most of Burma (including Rangoon) was lost early in 1942.
Transport unloading on non combat move
Bravehart last edited by
Was curious if the situation.
I want to move my transport in a non combat move to a sea zone that has enemy boats in.
Is the transport legal to unload in that SZ, or will the other side have to First fight those transports first on there future turn, and if the transport survive, then I can unload when the turn comes back around?
Realistically, the transports won’t survive at all, but just wondered if I can do non combat and unload, and accept doing this my transports will be gone when it’s there turn.
If there are enemy warships on the surface, you cant NCM into a hostile sea zone. To attempt an unload in a hostile SZ you must clear it first, during combat.
If it is only enemy submarines, those do not make the SZ hostile, but there is a special rule that a friendly warship must accompany the transport for it to unload, and I believe that’s true whether its a NCM or Combat action.
Bravehart last edited by
It makes sense. Thanks for the detailed answer.
Panther Moderator Official Q&A 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA last edited by Panther
… If it is only enemy submarines, those do not make the SZ hostile, but there is a special rule that a friendly warship must accompany the transport for it to unload, and I believe that’s true whether its a NCM or Combat action.
No, this is a rule for Combat Move/Amphibious Assault only, see Rulebook Pacific 1940.2, page 15:
However, a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy submarines unless at least 1 warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.
Thanks buddy, my transports will noncom with impunity from now on!