Transports and submarines in the same seazone


  • From the rulebook about submarines:

    Does Not Block Enemy Movement: The “stealth” ability of submarines also allows enemy ships to ignore their presence.
    Any sea zone that contains only enemy submarines does not stop the movement of a sea unit. Sea units ending their combat
    movement in a sea zone containing only enemy submarines may choose to attack them or not. Sea units can also end their
    noncombat movement in a sea zone containing only enemy submarines.

    About transports

    Any sea zone that contains only enemy transports doesn’t stop the movement of a sea
    unit. Air or sea units (other than transports) ending their combat movement in a sea zone containing only enemy transports
    automatically destroy those transports (unless they are ignoring them to support an amphibious assault instead). This counts
    as a sea combat for those sea units. Sea units can also end their noncombat movement in a sea zone containing only enemy
    transports.

    If I interpreted this correctly, a seazone containing both submarines AND transports blocks the movement of sea units. This doesn´t make any sense.

    Do submarines have the ability to protect allied transports? (obviously not from air units) Can you ignore making an attack on a seazone containing transports and submarines to make a seashore bombardment?

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @Simon98v:

    If I interpreted this correctly, a seazone containing both submarines AND transports blocks the movement of sea units. This doesn�t make any sense.

    Do submarines have the ability to protect allied transports? (obviously not from air units)

    Can you ignore making an attack on a seazone containing transports and submarines to make a seashore bombardment?

    Don’t forget:

    @rulebook:

    An enemy submarine and/or transport does not block any of your units’ movement, nor does it prevent loading or offloading
    in that sea zone (with one exception - see Special Combat Movement: Transports, pg. 13). As the moving player, you have the
    option of attacking an enemy submarine and/or transport that shares a sea zone with you. However, if a warship chooses to sink
    an unescorted transport, that warship must end its movement in that sea zone. It is possible that some units may stop to attack
    while others continue moving through the sea zone.

    This should answer all your questions.

Suggested Topics

  • 8
  • 2
  • 4
  • 11
  • 5
  • 3
  • 4
  • 18
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

40
Online

15.6k
Users

37.0k
Topics

1.6m
Posts