I’ve four questions about Axis&Allies Classic Second Edition.
Let’s see if I can shed some light on this.
1. If I have a transport with 2 infantries already loaded before the turn, can I offload 1 of them into a hostile territory, during Combat Movement, then offload the second one during Non Combat Movement, and, if so, can I offload it to another territory and regardless whether the transport moved or not (bridging)? And how about any differences in case such transport also took part in a victorious sea battle?
There is nothing in the Classic Second Ed. rules that says you can’t unload in Combat Movement and again in Non-Combat Movement, provided you stay in the sea zone where you unloaded in Combat Movement. Page 16, Transports says: “ONCE A TRANSPORT UNLOADS, HOWEVER, ITS MOVE IS OVER!” (emphasis in original). A rulebook example of unloading in different territories is also given on page 16: “… if a transport was in the sea zone surrounding the United Kingdom, it could carry 1 infantry to Finland/Norway and 1 infantry to Western Europe …”
2. Do the Revised OOB rule that, during Combat Movement, you can load a transport you are sending to take part in a sea battle, without offloading it on the same phase, applies to Classic 2nd Edition too? If not, could you, instead, load it and offload to a friendly land territory from the hostile sea zone, during Combat Movement? (I suppose it doesn’t, and there is no way you can both offload units into a friendly territory from a transport and use that same transport as fodder in an attack, unless the units were already loaded before the turn)
There is nothing in the Classic Second Ed. rules that says you can’t load a transport during Combat Movement. The restriction is that if a transport moves into a hostile sea zone, its movement stops. As for when you can unload a transport in a hostile sea zone, Page 15 Amphibious Assaults, says: “During an amphibious assault, if there are enemy naval units in the sea zone adjacent to the target coastal territory, all of your attacking naval units … [including] accompanying transports … must attack and defeat all enemy naval units in the zone before the transports move in to unload…” Therefore, you can’t load and unload your transport before naval combat takes place. Assuming you just want to move units from one friendly territory to another, you could send the transport in unloaded and fight the battle before moving the units in Non-Combat Movement. But, if you are attacking a hostile shore, you must load the transports with the attacking troops before fighting the naval battle to clear the sea zone before landing the troops on a hostile coastal territory.
3. Do the Revised OOB rule that, during Non Combat Movement, you can only either load or unload a transport that hasn’t offloaded any units yet and that has taken part in a victorious sea battle applies to Classic 2nd Edition too? If not, what could such a transport do? (I suppose it doesn’t, and a transport that participated in combat cannot load or move anymore at all, but it can offload units that were already loaded before the turn, as well as you cannot offload units to friendly land territories during Combat Movement, in any case)
Page 16, Transports, says: “A transport can pick up cargo, move 1 or 2 sea zones, and unload the cargo all in the same move. THE CARGO CAN BE PICKED UP BEFORE, DURING, OR AFTER THE TRANSPORT MOVES.” (emphasis in original). Therefore, I would surmise that you can move a transport in Combat Movement, fight a battle, and then bridge units from one territory to another in Non-Combat Movement. You would have to note the restriction that once a sea units fights a naval battle, it can’t move again in Non-Combat Movement. Further, you could unload troops onto a friend shore in Non-Combat Movement after taking part in a Naval Battle, provided the transport’s side won the battle and retains control of the sea zone.
4. Do the Revised OOB rule that, during Non Combat Movement, a retreated transport cannot load nor offload anything applies to Classic 2nd Edition too? If not, what could such a transport do? (I suppose it does, and a transport that retreated from combat cannot load, offload or move anymore at all, but I’ve no idea about the case he had units already loaded before the turn that were not sent into a sea borne assault)
There is nothing in the Classic Second Ed. rules that says you can’t unload a transport during Non-Combat Movement, even after a retreat, provided you don’t have to move to reach a place to unload in the first place. You can’t move the transport, but you can drop the cargo on a friendly named island in the same sea zone as the transport or a friendly coastal territory adjacent to the sea zone with the transport.
Does that help you, or are you still lost?