Amphibious Assult from Ally's Transport


  • The rules indicate that an attacking land unit can assault a coastal territory from an ally’s transport but only on the attacking land unit owner’s turn.  Consider the situation where the Americans have conducted an amphibious assault on a Japanese coastal territory containing an airbase and ignored a Japanese sub in the sea zone from which the assault was made.  In this sea zone there are two Australian infantry on an American transport and one Australian fighter on an American carrier.  The American amphibious assault is unsuccessful, leaving two American carriers, one battleship, two cruisers, two destroyers, and three transports in the sea zone and one Japanese fighter in the coastal territory.  On the Australian turn, the Australians want to conduct an amphibious assault using the two infantry units from the American transport and the fighter from the American carrier.  Here are some questions I have about this:

    1. Does the Japanese sub prevent the amphibious assault because there is no accompanying Australian surface warship?
    2. If the Japanese scramble its one fighter into the sea zone, does the fighter and sub defend against the entire American fleet in the sea zone or just the American transport that is carrying the Australians?

    If you change the situation and the two Australian infantry are carried into the amphibious assault by an Australian transport instead of the American transport, then the rules indicate the Japanese sub would prevent the assault since there is no accompanying Australian surface warship.  The rule allowing an amphibious assault from an ally’s transport seems to be in conflict with other rules indicating allied units cannot attack together.

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    Welcome to the forum Geocal.
    1. Yes.
    2. No. The Americans cannot be hit, as it is not America’s go. The Transport just cannot unload the Australians and the Ft can’t hit either the ship or the units on the TT.

    If you change the TT to an Australian one, then the Sub prevents the assault, as you have said. However, the Japanese Ft could scramble and if it hits on a roll of 4, it would sink the Australian TT with the units on board. If it misses, the TT could retreat, of course.


  • Thanks for the clarification on this situation.  However, your answers raise another question. If the situation is changed where there is no Japanese sub in the sea zone and the Australian infantry is assaulting from an American transport, can the Japanese fighter scramble into the sea zone to prevent the amphibious assault?

    Your answer to question 2 would seem to imply that it would not, since the Japanese fighter cannot defend against American units.  If this is true, this again seems to imply that allied units can attack together.

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    The Japanese Ft  can, indeed,  prevent the Australians from unloading.
    Again, Krieghund clarified this recently.

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @geocal:

    Thanks for the clarification on this situation.  However, your answers raise another question. If the situation is changed where there is no Japanese sub in the sea zone and the Australian infantry is assaulting from an American transport, can the Japanese fighter scramble into the sea zone to prevent the amphibious assault?

    Your answer to question 2 would seem to imply that it would not, since the Japanese fighter cannot defend against American units.  If this is true, this again seems to imply that allied units can attack together.

    This scenario is covered by the official FAQ-sheet, page 2:

    @FAQ:

    Q. Say the United Kingdom launches an amphibious assault from a US transport without any
    supporting UK sea or air units in the sea zone, and then Japan scrambles. What happens?
    A. In effect, nothing happens. The US transport doesn’t participate in the sea battle because it’s not the
    US’s turn. Since there are no attacking sea or air units, there is no sea battle. However, the sea zone
    can’t be cleared of defending combat units, so the amphibious assault can’t proceed.

    HTH 🙂

  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    What’s important to remember is that a transport can’t unload unless the SZ is made friendly.

    In this case the Americans and the transport and precluded from combat, but the SZ Still has to be friendly.  If the Japanese can keep it hostile then Anzac can’t land.

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 2
  • 9
  • 3
  • 2
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

34
Online

16.3k
Users

38.0k
Topics

1.6m
Posts