USA not at war movement



  • When the US is not at war and is still neutral, can it move its ships into a SZ and end their turn there with other Allied naval units?

    I.E.  if Anzac or UK takes a money island, could the US ships from the Phillipines move into that SZ as additional support?  Or could they move them down to SZ54 to pair up with an ANZAC fleet  when “NOT” at war?


  • 2019 2017 '16

    Unless the USA or the attacker declares war, those ships would be spectators to any battle which might ensue.



  • USA naval movement is extremely restricted on the Atlantic side to just 3 or 4 sea zones. On the Pacific map, I think, your boats can end their turn anywhere as long as they don’t share the sea zone with Japanese naval units.

    So in that case, you would be able to have your Philippines fleet merge with an Anzac fleet.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @KGrimB:

    USA naval movement is extremely restricted on the Atlantic side to just 3 or 4 sea zones. On the Pacific map, I think, your boats can end their turn anywhere as long as they don’t share the sea zone with Japanese naval units.

    No, sorry:

    @rulebook:

    In addition to the normal restrictions (see
    “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 14), while it’s not at war with Japan, the United States may not move any units
    into or through China or  end the movement of its sea units in sea zones that are adjacent to Japan-controlled territories. While
    not at war with Germany or Italy, the United States may end the movement of its sea units on the Europe map only in sea
    zones that are adjacent to U.S. territories, with one exception: U.S. warships (not transports) may also conduct long-range
    patrols into sea zone 102.

    @KGrimB:

    So in that case, you would be able to have your Philippines fleet merge with an Anzac fleet.

    As simon33 correctly said, they simply share a seazone, not being allowed to defend together.



  • To explain it Barney Style, on the Pacific, US fleets can sit in the same sea zones as Japanese fleets, US ships just can’t be next to an island or mainland that is Japanese and as for the Japanese, they are not allowed two sea zones within US mainland.



  • @Caesar:

    as for the Japanese, they are not allowed two sea zones within US mainland.

    Which exact sea zones are Japan actually allowed/restricted?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    I remember Krieghund saying Japan can occupy SZ26.



  • @nhgrif:

    @Caesar:

    as for the Japanese, they are not allowed two sea zones within US mainland.

    Which exact sea zones are Japan actually allowed/restricted?

    Just count two SZ from Alaska, Western US, and Mexico.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 12
  • 16
  • 35
  • 11
  • 3
  • 4
  • 7
  • 2
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

50
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts