Sub vs carrier w/ planes rules clarification


  • Hi, looking for a quick confirmation.
    If only subs attack a carrier containing a fighter (of the same country as the carrier i.e. its NOT cargo), do the planes get a defense roll against the subs? This is purely subs vs only 1 carrier and 1 fighter.
    I argued with my buddy that they do but he thinks otherwise and I couldn’t get a clear confirmation skimming the rule book.
    Thanks in advance!!

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @cwglee:

    Hi, looking for a quick confirmation.
    If only subs attack a carrier containing a fighter (of the same country as the carrier i.e. its NOT cargo), do the planes get a defense roll against the subs? This is purely subs vs only 1 carrier and 1 fighter.

    The plane(s) is/are defending in the air. So in general they get their defense roll. However they cannot hit the subs (as there is no destroyer friendly to the planes).
    Of course the attacking subs can’t hit the defending plane(s) either.

    Sidenote:
    A friendly power’s plane is only considered as cargo on attacking carriers.


  • Ok thanks,
    so then if the carrier is damaged or destroyed then plane is awarded 1 space to find a suitable landing space else lost?

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @cwglee:

    Ok thanks,
    so then if the carrier is damaged or destroyed then plane is awarded 1 space to find a suitable landing space else lost?

    That’s correct.

Suggested Topics

  • 11
  • 3
  • 22
  • 14
  • 7
  • 2
  • 6
  • 2
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

41
Online

15.1k
Users

35.9k
Topics

1.5m
Posts