Russian non combat moves while neutral



  • need clarification… is Russia allowed to move into the middle east territories to activate them for the allies when not at war? Thank you!


  • '16 '15 '10

    @japapam:

    need clarification… is Russia allowed to move into the middle east territories to activate them for the allies when not at war? Thank you!

    No.  Russia needs to be at war with a Western Axis power in order to occupy NW Persia or attack Iraq or Finland.

    Use the stickied 2nd edition Q&A thread for the quickest answer.  Sometimes you can find previous answers by search querying that thread.



  • Could the U.S.S.R invade Turkey? How would such a move change the War?


  • 2018 2017

    Yes, they could declare war on the neutrals.  That would turn all other True Neutrals pro-Axis. Early in the game, this would probably turn out poorly for the Allies.


  • 2019 2018 2017 '16

    The rules specifically prohibit Russian forces from leaving Russia before Germany/Italy have declared war on Russia.

    Marsh


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @ABWorsham:

    Could the U.S.S.R invade Turkey? How would such a move change the War?

    No.

    @rulebook:

    While a power remains neutral, it operates
    under even tighter restrictions. A neutral power
    can’t move land or air units into or through neutral
    territories.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @Navymule:

    Yes, they could declare war on the neutrals.

    No, you never declare war on neutrals.

    @rulebook:

    Unlike powers, war is never declared on neutral territories - they are simply attacked.

    However, as posted above, special restrictions apply.


  • 2018 2017

    I stand corrected.  However, they (USSR) could declare war upon Japan and then attack a neutral such as Turkey, right?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @Navymule:

    I stand corrected.  However, they (USSR) could declare war upon Japan and then attack a neutral such as Turkey, right?

    No again, sorry:

    @rulebook:

    Due to its separate treaties with Germany and Japan, the Soviet Union is in a unique position in its relationship with the
    Axis powers. As a result, if the Soviet Union is at war with Axis powers on only one map, it is still under the restrictions
    of being a neutral power (see “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 15) on the other map
    , and Axis powers on
    the other map are also still under those restrictions regarding the Soviet Union on both maps. For example, a state of
    war with only Japan lifts the neutrality restrictions from the Soviet Union on the Pacific map only
    , and allows Japanese
    units to attack or fly over Soviet-controlled territories on either map. However, the Soviet Union is still restricted on
    the Europe map,


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

53
Online

14.0k
Users

34.3k
Topics

1.4m
Posts