• Hey there,

I have very little experience playing A&A on a real board but would like to introduce some friends to it. One of the things that I always found difficult about A&A on the board is organization. Specifically, I find the role of aircraft very difficult to keep track of, since fighters and bombers may fly many spaces from an origin country to a battle. Once in the battle, everything is kind of mixed and I imagine we will forget where each fighter came from originally, or more specifically, how far it has already moved.

How do you deal with this? I was considering some sort of markers to place in origin countries, one for bombers, one for fighters.

An alternative I suppose is to use an array of D6 dice, and sort of have a die displaying how many moves have already been made with each plane participating in a combat. So I would perhaps have a fighter model and a bomber model off to the side where I keep all my other stuff. Then, for each fighter, place a D6, facing the number of moves used (or remaining, depending on the convention we choose) up.

On that note, as a slight rules question. If you have say 3 fighters attacking a country which as AA, and 1 of them gets shot down. Can you choose to lose the fighter which has used the most amount of movement already, or would you need to roll a die 1:1 for each fighter.

Any other ideas about board organization that might help us get through a game and not get bogged down in game piece overload?

• '10

I’ve always used dice. If I have enough space, I’ll put it right under the plane in the territory. I usually have the number of remaining moves showing.

As for your plane as a casualty question, we’ve always rolled all dice like that at one time. And you can choose any one you want as the casualty, so yes, you could always pick the one with the fewest remaining moves.

• Hello TheBeninator