This is incorrect….East Poland is a original Russian territory…Germans are neutral…Russia may in fact and has the right to regain it’s territory back from a combatant…neutral Germany now must decide to withdraw or declare war and stay in the territory
Some misunderstandings of the rules here: Germany is not neutral, as it starts the game already being at war. The rules don’t contain a concept of a nation being at war on the one hand and on the other hand being neutral to other nations. A power is either at war or neutral. At the start of the game only USA and Russia are neutral.
In the given scenario Germany is at war - but not with Russia.
It is completely irrelevant, that East Poland is an original Russian territory. At the time Germany does the NCM East Poland is Italian and thus friendly to Germany.
Of course Russia may regain its territory, but it has to declare war on Germany for doing so and fight both occupying nations.
Also the rules don’t contain the concept of a retreating defender. When Russia attacks East Poland it is only Russia that may - during the battle - retreat, provided the retreat rules apply. Neither do the rules contain a concept of a neutral nation that retreats.
Midnight Reaper….there is in fact a combatant in that territory…you would be right if it was only a neutral Germany only in East Poland…this is not the case…there is a Italian combatant in the territory
No, if Russia wants to attack East Poland it must declare war on Germany - so there are two combattants to fight against.
Movement by the Germans into Russia should be a deceleration of war by Germany in my opinion….this is a broken rule that should be clarified more precisely as I am positive Russia may regain it’s territory. Quite broken that Germany can non combat move and collect a bonus for not at war with Russia while it is occupying the territory with absolutely 0 benefit to the Russians and hindering their defense even more
No. Germany does not move into a Russian territory but into an Italian - thus friendly - territory. Not a broken rule, but a core rule of Axis&Allies games that allows to bring units into friendly territories.
Marsh and Midnight_Reaper are correct.