Question re subs and transports
I’ve been assuming that transports can ignore subs in their movement phase except when offloading for an amphibious attack.
I then read the errata(http://axisallies.com/rules/axis-allies-rules-europe1940-corrections-faqs.pdf) that said:
Q. Submarines can attack transports that move through their sea zone “unaccompanied by
surface warships”. Under exactly what conditions do surface warships prevent sub attacks on
A. In order to prevent sub attacks, a transport or group of transports must make its entire move
accompanied by a specific surface warship or group of surface warships. Each transport or group of
transports that is not escorted will be fired upon once by each sub in the sea zone.
so I think I was wrong. but I wanted to confirm.
And I assume triple-A doesn’t catch this?
Be careful with errata published by third party sides.
The one you quoted from is an old and outdated one referring to first edition.
Better see those published here: http://avalonhill.wizards.com/rules
thanks! And sorry for adding any confusion. I should have caught that.
Why was that rule changed? Seems logical to me.
Caesar Seriona last edited by
I think the rule changed to give more power to destroyers as sub hunters.